We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been There...Done That”

Uncle Lui's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Lui's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 240 Restaurants in Sunrise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: German, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: University Drive
Description: Uncle Lui’s offers family-style dining that crisscrosses Europe. German and Hungarian dishes like goulash and schnitzel are on the menu, as are items like roast duck, chowders and homemade apple strudel. The friendly service adds to the appeal, as do the wallet-friendly prices.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Been There...Done That”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Charming décor has retained elements of East Europe because of the potato pancakes, corn chowder, red cabbage, creamed spinach. apple strudel on the menu. These touches were a delightful escape from a typical American diner. When the potato pancakes were plopped on the table with tacit resignation and tiny plastic take-out cups of sour cream and apple sauce and later on the creamed spinach came heavy on corn starch and light on spinach we were disappointed. The restaurant seemed run on routine and outsourced supplies with the 'family' ingredient lost in time. Still, if you prefer soft vegetables and ample servings you might like it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Uncle Lui's Hungarian Restaurant”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Ate here with friends. We eat here at least twice a year ( It's an hour from home). Very unassuming restaurant in an out of the way strip mall. Restaurant run by the owner & his family. Real home cooked food. Huge portions ( always take food home). Food is consistently very good. Very reasonably price & wait staff excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great food, fast and efficient service, HUGE portions (expect to have takeout), and very reasonable prices! I had hunter sniezel which was done perfectly. Everything is homemade, from soups to deserts. I can't wait to return to this family run, neighborhood place. I suggest you make reservations because the restaurant is fairly small and people eat at a leisurely pace here. I rated the bar scene as excellent, not because of its bar, but because I did not want to downgrade the place in any way, it is that good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rshimony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I recently ate at this restaurant for our 10th year anniversary and what a surprise. If you are looking for a fine restaurant for Hungarian style food this is the place to go. The quality of food and service is fantastic. All dishes are homemade and a lot of it..Come hungry because you are in for a treat....lot of food at reasonable prices . Great menu .Will definitely come back again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WINNMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great bargain”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Uncle Lui's is an exceptionally fine restaurant. From the quality of the food to its fine preparation. every visit has been a pleasure. It is quite a trip for us to get there, but we make the trip a number of times a year, every year. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed. In fact, everyone to whom we have recommended Uncle Lui's, has thanked us profusely for doing so.
Peter B. Martin

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pbm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Lui's Restaurant also viewed

 
Sunrise, Broward County
Sunrise, Broward County
 

Been to Uncle Lui's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing