We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not newly renovated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not newly renovated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The website states this hotel in "Newly Renovated" when in fact it is under renovation. The rooms smell of mildew or mold and there are carpet fans lining the halls in an attempt to get the odor out. Service was great but they should not falsely advertise this hotel as newly renovated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank rgb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    232
    113
    36
    33
See reviews for
234
118
53
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I only stayed here for one night, but I definitely can't complain. The receptionist was jovial and the room was fantastic. Everything was working just fine. Breakfast was the traditional continental breakfast, however, the breakfast room is a little small and can get crowded, so make sure you get there early enough to get a table. I believe I had the same receptionist for checkout, but if not, that receptionist was also jovial and helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is average, but the workers are poor--makes the experience rating poor.
Other than having to change the bathroom light bulb myself, manually flush the toilet, and avoid the funky smelling stairs, the hotel was ok. The hotel staff, except for Christian, could use attitude adjustments. They would not greet patrons, would not answer calls to the front desk, would not clean rooms before 3pm, and purposely wore name tags upside down. I believe the workers are rebelling against management--just a guess.

Room Tip: Ask for Christian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I am not sure but it seems like renovations were stopped midway through. Lobby and entryway all look nice an dupdated but once you enter the the elevator and go to your room that changes. All appliances-telephone-TV-Microwave-Fridge-Hairdryer were yellow and old and appeared to be from the 70's. The towels were like sand paper, made of the cheapest quality. The bed linens were stained from head to toe with black marks. There was no comforter or blanket so I was freezing most the night. Nothing but a cheap thin sheet to cover myself. The floors were the worst I have ever seen. It wasnt just my room it was the entire hotel. Disgusting woods floors from ages ago-there was dust and dirt and stains and drip marks all over the hotel. The baseboards and floors and walls of the entire hotel and my room obviously havent been touched or cleaned properly in a very long time. I refused to walk around barefoot anywhere. I requested a non-smoking room but was put on a floor that was flooded with a smoky, overwhelming cigarette smell. The breakfast we were supposed to have was nowhere to be seen when I walked out of the hotel at 9:30. I would have rather paid the same money to go to an ExtendedStay with a brand new, full size kitchen and room twice the size with clean bed linens. THis hotel needs help. Majorly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Brittany,Beth &Gladys were all very nice,courteous, & helpful!!!
They gave us all the information for our stay including details of the Brightside breakfast.
Beth was kind enough to update my points from previos 3-4 stays in the Newark La Quinta.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
5.3 mi away
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sunrise
3.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale/West-Sawgrass/Tamarac
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
Address: 13651 NW 2nd St, Sunrise, FL 33325-6202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Sunrise
La Quinta Sunrise
Sunrise Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing