We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Here we go......

Went on an 1 1/2 hour ride today. Was quoted $45 p/p ..the conversation with the receptionist... read more

Reviewed February 20, 2018
Jana S
,
Indianapolis, Indiana
Sad place, I feel badly for the animals. Very dirty.

This is an odd place, ramshackle, dirty and just weird. A young man greeted us stating the charge... read more

Reviewed March 14, 2018
Lola1958
,
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Read all 89 reviews
  
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
28
13
3
4
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
13
3
4
41
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 89 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I am a recurring visitor to sun city stables, I enjoy being around the horses and staff and love the naturalness of the trails, bugs and all. I recently see post about poor conditions and I disagree. Every time I have visited and rode with my children we have had an nice experience. I have also spoke with the staff on several occasions and learned much about the stable itself. For example in reference to other reviews! They let all their horses out every night after close, the horses have all the front
property to roam at night and bails of hay spread through out to eat, so of course there will be poop! Not to mention its a farm... You can not see the trails because they are actually in the back because what fun would trails be if they were around the stalls... Note that's why there called trails... The rates are very responsible and yes there's bugs it's Florida. Now horses in poor condition hmmm yes I seen the photos but lets think about this for a moment.... They are a Horse Rescue, so you assume that with in a day of having or acquiring a new horse that it would be healthy and fat? No it does take months to fix someone's else's negligence! Coming from someone who has rescued horses it takes time and lots of TLC.. I do recommend riding at Sun City Stables, and have sent many friends and family there who have also had a great time. Sorry but I do find it highly offensive to claim horses are
dying, not knowing any facts.
Everyone is free to their opinion of course.

3  Thank Azuremaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I read all of the positive reviews and thought sun city stables would be a fun place to take my boyfriend horseback riding. I called ahead to schedule a time and the man on the phone was very friendly so I thought it would be a good place to go. When I got there I realized that I was wrong about this place. It was very sketchy and creepy looking. The "office" was a trailer. We had to walk around the property trying to find someone to help us and when we finally found a lady and asked where we should go, she said "you go to the office which is that blue trailer over there but y'all can't do anything yet cause I'm not in the office". Very rude. While we waited 20 more minutes to finally be helped, we looked at the "petting zoo" they had which was basically a collection of poorly taken care of goats Locked up in a small area. They also had an ostrich which was in a small pen an he looked like he was in bad condition. The property was not beautiful. It was very scary and dead. There was poop EVERYWHERE. When the mean lady (who by the way was the only person there) finally showed up at the crappy trailer they use as an office, she lit a cigarette and threw some papers at me. When I asked a question about the paperwork she yelled at me and made me feel stupid for asking. The horses were in bad condition. I could not see any trails. I was so appalled at my whole experience that we left before I bothered to waste my money at this horrible place. PLEASE NO ONE GO HERE. I did not feel like a valued customer. I did not have a good experience. And I am very glad that I did not waste my money here. The website is misleading. The positive comments are misleading. This is a horrible place to go. Don't bring your children. Very scary. Don't make the same mistake I did.

7  Thank Katt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

When I accidently ran across Sun City Stables in July 2013 I was really surprised to see a farm animals petting area. It was great. I stayed and enjoyed for about 20 minutes. My next visit here was 8-7-13. About 10 minutes after arriving a lady came and asked if she could help us. I was then informed visiting the animals was $5 per person. There isn't a sign anywhere about a fee and the website doesn't inform about this either. So this is a heads up to others who might visit here. Also there are two separate places with the goats. The first section where you park the animals seem happy and healthy. The other section to the left there are some sick goats. Some are coughing and breathing hard. So I wouldn't pet those at all. Real heartbreaking to see them like this. Thanks

7  Thank Charles M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The people who helped me with selecting a horse were very helpful and understanding. They were able to get me a horse who suited my riding ability. I'm an avid rider who love horses who think and have personality, and that's exactly what I got! Thank you! They had a wide variety of horses, even paso finos. The trails were beautiful, though there was the need for bug repellent. You cannot go anywhere in Florida where that isn't the case.

1  Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I visited sun city stables the other day, where I was approached by a lady with a good morning welcome to sun city stables. As we continued to the office area we were asked our experience level, and wether we needed a guide ( in which we choose not to have.) We were informed about the water on the trails due to recent rains, but I had no issue with that! We were offered bug repellent due to the increase in water so are the bugs. We are novice riders and were a little nervous but was reassured that we would get adequate instructions upon mounting. This lady told us every thing that was going to happen as far as pulling out our horses and where we were going to mount, I watched her spray down all horses with bug repellent as well... She handed us our horses and gave us a quick low down on what kind of horse and some little personality quirks I thought was cute. Long story short, we take our horses to a block and get on in where they gave us a quick lesson in basic riding how to sit, rein, stop ect... Then this lady proceeded to walk us a distance out to then explain the trail to us. Very easy instructions... I would recommend this place and also would visit again! The trails were wet but brought me back in time to fl natural environment ... Will do it again soon.

1  Thank Azuremaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews