We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jewel”
Review of Crab Shack - CLOSED

Crab Shack
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nothing fancy, just great tasting food at an affordable price.
Family owned and operated.
Has a great back dock seating area. Everything is freshly prepared and my favorite is the mahi mahi sandwich !
My wife loves their grouper bites. Located on summerland key. Give them a try, you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We are locals in the Lower Keys and this is one of our favorite restaurants to go to. Very laid back mom pop atmosphere with awesome home cooking. Thursday and Friday Prime Rib night is especially good. All of the seafood is fresh and most caught locally. Family owned with mom Barbara doing the cooking. Try the crab soup. It's delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

On our drive from Key West back to Miami around sunset on a Saturday night after completing the Ragnar Relay (200 mile team run!), all we wanted was a cozy, local seafood joint with good service and good food. We got much more than that. We sat along the waterway with a view of the stars and listened to the hop of fish up and down in the water. We got to chat with the owners who were more than welcoming with information about the area, how their restaurant got started, and of course recommendations on what seafood that day was the absolute freshest. After the yellowtail bites with amazing mustard remoulade and a lobster po boy with perfect cole slaw, we were stuffed and thrilled with our find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank karseg4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Crab Cakes”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I loved the crab cakes! Full of meat and very tasty. Excellent service and friendly owners. Not a fancy place but very good fresh food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SirEdward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Perfectly slow and comfortable”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stopped here for dinner after an all too exhausting day on Key West. We needed to be feed and get out of the touristy buzz. This was perfect. Very low key, not fancy, personable. The food was okay, completely decent, not interesting though. The owners were generous and kind.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Shack also viewed

Summerland Key, Lower Keys
Summerland Key, Lower Keys
 
Summerland Key, Lower Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing