We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first trip was Excellent, Don't use the market” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wharf Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Wharf Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My first trip was Excellent, Don't use the market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I loved this place the first two times, third not so much. The mango coleslaw has changed and a total rip off if ordered as a side. The outside is dog friendly and right on the canal. Watch out for the benches, I saw two people tip over by sliding to the edge and the bench flipping. The food is good but expensive which I don't mind because the ingredients seemed fresh. After my third visit I decided to buy some fish and organic chicken to take home to Key West. The Tuna looked great, I bought over a pound at 16.95 per pound. I asked for an organic chicken, was a little surprised that it was frozen but took it home and thawed it two days in the fridge. I cooked the tuna the same day and gave it to the dog. I frequently cook tuna, this had a bad taste, I was a little concerned for the dog. I just finished roasting the chicken, it smelled a little off before I cooked it, I washed it completely and found two broken bones. After cooking it still smelled off, I am debating whether to give it to the dog. So that was a purchase of $30.00 worth of dog food. The lettuce was good, it was also expensive. but at least I got to eat it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliette1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    137
    55
    37
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pompano beach florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Leaving the mundane behind.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ushered here by those rascals running the Boy Scouts Sea Base High Adventure Camp, I have now made this the jumping off point of "feeling the keys".

Here's how it works. Drive in, get out, order the fish of the day certain to be Mahi-Mahi or Yellow Tail Snapper pann'e with butter. Consume two Blue Moons. Retreat to the outside tables, flap open my 5' square of tie-died cotton fabric with which I encompass my self and the bestest - freshest fish, I've eaten - and become one with it. In more than a dozen visits, they have never failed to deliver.

and yes, at least one fish gives up his or her life for me. Circle of life.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank volvo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Great Local Key's Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Probably one of the Friendliest Restaurants anywhere in the Florida Keys. Very Casual. Very laid back and very good food. You can dress anyway you like to come here for lunch or dinner. They have awesome lunch and dinner specials. Prices are good. Service has vastly improved. The drinks are all great. On Tuesday night they have Tijuana Tuesday, on Wednesday night its Wichita Wednesday and on Thursday night they have Havana Thursday. All specializing in main courses from that area. All excellent! Sometimes they do run out of certain seafood but its because all their seafood is FRESH! Lots of locals eat here and all are very friendly. So easy to strike up a conversation about anything pertaining to the Keys with anybody eating or drinking here. They do have outside tables that are overlooking a small canal if you prefer to eat outside. Pretty much a winning situation dining here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nocurfu53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, Cool Local Joint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at a house near the Wharf & ate there several times even did takeout once. Food & Service was always great. It's got a real "Keys" atmosphere. I had the impression its very popular with the locals as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tml-michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low key place with great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Greasy spoon little place with great eggs and bacon. The home fries were great also. We got in quick at 10am, greeted by friendly staff.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Bar & Grill also viewed

Summerland Key, Lower Keys
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
 
Little Torch Key, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing