We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky!”
Review of The Wharf Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Wharf Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Funky!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Pure Keys! Serves all the meals, is open all day, and has incredible homemade soups. Their conch stew is an award winner, but a tad spicey. If you want their delicious conch cevice you will have to ask (and tell them to bring some jalopenas with it). Service is, well, kooky and sporadic. Be sure to be real specific and then be prepared to say it again. Prices are good. Has a fresh seafood case, as well as clams (best price I have seen on the East coast at 30 cents per) , mussels, and oysters. Be prepared to hear "we are all out because of----(a whole variety of intriguing excuses). If you like Keys islands food, go there. I sure will return but I think they think I'm a bit crazy because I'm impatient with staff that either doesn't know the basics, or has to check on just about everything you ask. Look, doggone it, its the Keys. So chill out and enjoy the conch culture as well as the conchy food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    137
    55
    37
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cudjoe Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great margaritas”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Margaritas are terrific. Food is good. They cook your catch which is usually very good.. Service is consistently .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second time around”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visit this restaurant every time we are in the lower Keys. The food is good, fresh and presented well. We had smoked fish dip and smoked fish for appetizers. I had oysters and hubby had fish of the day. Well done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pulled up canal side in the boat - easy access - ate outside to enjoy the view. Service was good, great selection on the menu. The favorites at our table: oysters on the half shell, FRESH Mahi and shrimp and the showstopper was the Lobster BLT. The organic market is such a plus. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite spot for a great meal - not just a restaurant either!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh local fish with a dash of homegrown organic goodness. It's is not just a restaurant. They have a meat counter, organic produce section, wine and liquor to go as well. My favorite outdoor spot for a an afternoon outdoor meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MooresParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Bar & Grill also viewed

Little Torch Key, Florida Keys
Summerland Key, Lower Keys
 
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Summerland Key, Lower Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing