We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugarloaf Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parmer's Resort(Little Torch Key)(Great Value!)
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oceans Edge Key West Hotel & Marina(Key West)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Perry Hotel Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gates Hotel | Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
101
119
39
14
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
119
39
14
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslower keyskey westsquare groupertiki bar at nightcomplimentary coffeelaid backclean place to stayrooms facesliding glasskeys experienceminute driveoverlooking the waterflat screen tvdry tortugasprivate pationice roomstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 296 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

this MOTEL IS JUST DOWN RIGHT AWEFUL me and my wife came to this motel to get away from the real expensive price of keywest we didnt know when we woke up the next day our bed had ANTS IN IT THATS RIGHT ANTS i asked the mgr what they could do about to fix this problem about getting a refund but they said they dont give full refunds i paid 128.00 for the room they said the owner would have to decide on what the refund he could give me he said only he could give me was 35.00 dollers oh and by the way the maids even seen the ants in the room to verify my claim if you want to be ripped off stay here

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taxidriverKeywestFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

This was a great hotel, but do not get this "lodge" confused with five star resort. The atmosphere was wonderful, totally local and low key. The hotel is not newly built, so it is not pristine - but it is definately clean. We needed a place to stay within a good price range and dock our boat. This place was it. All the rooms have a waterfront view. The restaurant at the hotel is good, not great and not cheap (careful kitchen can close as early as 9pm when not busy) . The tiki bar is good & cheap, on Sat. nights there is live music. The tiki bar is where the locals hang out. The locals are really what made our trip the best. Each room has a small refridgerator in the room. I would suggest bringing cold cuts or a small grill so that leaving the premises to eat is not a worry. In the morning about 1 mile south of the hotel on the east side of the road is Baby's Coffee (a local coffee shop) you can pick up a cup of coffee and a muffin/bagel instead of spending $10.00 for hotel breakfast. The only thing I could complain about in the room is that the towels have seen better days (hard, ripped). I would go back to this hotel (with my dog next time, because they are so pet friendly) and I suggest for anyone to stay here for a great, low key vacation). P.S. Bring bug spray for being outdoors at night - no-see-ums and sand fleas

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlottaTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

I have stayed here off and on for the past 35+ years. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!! The staff is familiar, the decor is the same and we love that. The rooms are large and it is so "the KEYS". If you really want to experience the reality of the Keys then come and stay at Sugar Loaf Lodge. You are a real Chonch if you appreciate Sugar Loaf. IF not, then go some where else and let us keep enjoying the real Keys. I grew up in Miami. My family had migrated to Key West in the mid 1800's from Cuba. The Keys have always been a world away from the mainland. If you dont like it,GO HOME.
Suzy

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank conchadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

This place is old and in need of lots of work. However the exorbitant price($150) per night is gladly paid by the people who fill this place up on the weekends.
I did notice that some rooms housed about 8 to ten people.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank luckysnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

While the land/water surrounding the property is beautiful and the restaurant and tiki bar are surprisingly great, the rooms are unspeakable. My husband and I had bug bites all over our bodies that appeared the morning after our first night. I'd hate to speculate about the cause but I will say that the hotel allows pets so I can pretty much infer what caused the bites. Be careful...you definitely get what you pay for in the Keys and this hotel is no exception to that rule.

  • Stayed: November 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank FLBayBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews