We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugarloaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugarloaf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugarloaf Key
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My elderly parents, husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Key West in Feb 2011. This hotel is about 20 minutes from Key West and is definitely a world away from the Duval St. zoo! The rooms were pleasant, the views lovely, the staff friendly and we met several locals at the Tiki Bar. The only issue was that the bar did not always serve meals, and there was nowhere close to go to eat. But we would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmnarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    106
    37
    11
    22
See reviews for
70
105
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cocoa, fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

May 21, 2011 Bruce Shafter, Cocoa Fl.
My wife and I are in our 50's and have stayed in some bad motels in the past but the Sugerloaf Lodge is not one of them. This is an older motel but a clean motel, nice new pool, sleep like a baby beds, beautful view of clear blue water from our back door.I travel weekly and stay in alot of motels and least 35 a year so I know motels and this it a nice place to take your vacation in. You are only 15 mins. from down town Key West. I will tell all my friends about this place and WE WILL BE BACK, thank you for having us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mynell22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Don't waste your time or money at the sugar loaf lodge. The place is filthy and is stuck in the '80s. The tiki bar is the only good thing about the place. I have photos of roaches all over the rafters on the walls,and beds. Absolutely inhumane. Checked in saw the room and checked right back out.
HORRENDiOUS!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Colleenclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
I'm sorry that you had an unpleasant experience, however, those were not cockroaches. They were mangrove beetles which swarm for a few weeks around April. They come out of the mangroves and unlike roaches are attracted to the light. We do what we can with spraying around the windows and my staff is instructed to notify people when they check in. It's possible that a light was left on in your room and they came in through the ducts or under the door. They get into to my house and the houses of many people who live down here. They are harmless but a nuisance. While no bugs are acceptable, these beetles are an unfortunate inconvenience of the the tropics and the Keys in particular. They are not an infestation. Cockroaches scurry away when a light is turned on, they don't hang out on the rafters. Again my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I chose this hotel because it got good reviews and I was looking for a quiet, good value, and clean place to stay. I liked the vintage retro feel. This hotel is still run by members of the originial family who started it back in the 60's. Alot of the same furniture, fixtures, etc are still in the room which is cool. Also nice is that all rooms overlook the water. What isn't cool is the nightly room charge as it is a frills hotel. No internet in the rooms, cell phones don't work in the room (they work outside the rooms), no coffee maker, no clock or radio, thin towels and bedspreads from the 1980's. The positives are it is very clean and the beds do sleep well, it's very quiet and if you don't want to deal with the Key West element, this is a great location. There's a nice pool and tiki bar with a sandwich menu plus they do offer free continental breakfast. I did a lot of research on this hotel and thought it would be perfect for me. I felt like it is a very overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CurlygirlNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris City, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We have stayed here in years gone by and recommended it to others BUT the years have gone by in neglect!!!! Someone seriously needs to take a scrub brush to the place. I cut my foot on the tack strip between the carpet and tile floors. We left early Sunday morning to spend the day in Key West. When we returned at 9:30 p.m., our first floor room door was wide open. The housekeeping staff had left it open. Thankfully nothing was missing. Of course, I didn't sleep well after that shock. Then there was no hot water for showers the next morning. They took $30 off the bill, but I should have had a free night. Over priced and needs bunches of TLC.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandyRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.aiugustine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

While I appreciate the concept of "retro", I do not believe that it should equate to filthy conditions. The bathroom was filthy beyond words--the bottom of the tub had blackish-grey growth both inside and out. The grout between the floor tiles was black--NOT a colored grout. It smelled moldy. The sink faucet had crud growing on it too. This is not a matter of being old; it is pitiful housekeeping. I wish I had taken photos so that others could see how bad it really was. Friends staying in a nearby room had a clogged toilet and the hotel people brought him a plunger and said "Here you go." Had there been a vacancy within 50 miles, we would have left. Also, the pricing is definitely questionable. the website listed the price as $160.00, but the actual cost was $180 per night. The ONLY positive thing I can say about the place is that they did not have bedbugs. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU CAN AVOID IT.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wrldtrvler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Someone called this retro. Damp, dark, dingy, outdated and way overpriced but can get the money for it just because it is on the Keys. Good for fishermen, divers and the like. Sevice desk not at all friendly or helpful when you could get them to show up. It IS on the water but don't expect to put your feet in it - not swimable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marylou44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugarloaf Key
14.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
13.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,310 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
11.4 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
889 reviews
11.4 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Property: Sugarloaf Lodge
Address: 17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-3681
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugarloaf Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugarloaf Logde is a family run, 31 unit waterfront resort in the Florida Keys 13 miles from Key West. All of our rooms face the water with sunset views and if you have a boat you can park it behind your room. The lodge has a Tiki Bar, marina, pool, tennis courts, and airstrip. Unfortunately, we do not allow pets but we are perfect for families, kayakers and flats fisherman. A fifteen minute drive from all that Key West has to offer without the crowds and high prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Hotel Summerland Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing