We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service and clean facilities!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugarloaf
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed on the green tent area and completely enjoyed our stay. The office staff was super friendly and very helpful answering all our questions. There was a security making rounds the entire time we were there-including into the night. We had a nice drink at the pub and laid out in the beach area. We are definitely going back with the kids. The entire experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg3768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 260 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I brought our 6 year old camping for the first time and I the biggest issue we has was loud music playing until 11pm. There was a party about 50 yards from our tent and this group cranked out music from about 2 pm to 11pm until it started to rain. I asked one of the staff members to ask them to turn it down so we could get some sleep and he said he couldn't do anything because they had until 11 pm to do whatever they wanted. Finally it started to down pour at 10:57 pm and they rushed to get their speakers in their van.

On another note, in the mens bathrooms the toilets were clogged with poo and smelled awful for two days. The pool was overrun by huge family reunions( 20 ppl in the hot tub) not sure how they all fit in there.

There weren't any garbage cans around either. Maybe one or two here and there.

I give this a poor rating because of the loud music issue. The staff did not intervene. Like hotels/resorts you are aloud to play music but it can't exceed 75 decibels and the music over the weekend doubled that. Did not sleep at all. The only good thing about this location is it's about 30 mins from Key West and the tent sites are pretty good. We won't be back though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Restaurant on site close,because of slow season.In my opinion they are losing money closing the restaurant, there was more than 30 people on the pool asking why it was close.I like the camping area it was empty,we got a good spot . The camp ground is the best on the keys.Only 30 miles from key west.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Friendly staff, bathrooms clean, nice little convenience store, good entertainment in the pub while we were there, sites a bit close together. Kids blow up rock wall needs replacement, they had just put in a new water trampoline for the kids. Overall a pretty nice place, other campers friendly and helpful, no rowdies. I will go back

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This should remain an RV park, NOT a campground. While my children slept through the night, my wife and I were kept awake on the first night by drunken neighbors and on the second night by neighbors who played a cat and mouse game with KOA staff on their two-stroke vespa, buzzing around the campground from about 12:00 midnight to 3 am!
Imagine what the campground would be like if it was busy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andi_F17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were told that we would have electricity and water at our campsite where we were tent camping but we did not. In fact they did not even have a site for us to set up our tent. We were driven to an area and told to just "find a place to set up." Everything was packed in with literally only inches between the RV's and tents. We ended up having to set up our tent in a median between two roads because that was the only spot large enough for our tent. We did not have electricity or water, and in fact in order to get to the bathrooms, the closest water or electricity we had to drive almost a quarter of a mile to get to them.

The bathrooms were in decent conditions, but there were several toilets that were clogged and could not be used.

Beyond all of the physical location aspects we were shocked by the atmosphere. There were literally over a hundred senior citizens and adults who were completely wasted screaming and yelling past 10 pm. They had a band that played music until 11pm and those who were wasted where thoroughly enjoying yelling and screaming along with them. We saw so many people having to help each other down the road because they were to drunk to stand up on their own.

We had to get up early the next morning, but we were unable to get any quiet until well after 11:30 because of all of the noise. There were several families around us that were trying to put their children to sleep but you could hear them crying because they kept getting woken up by all of the disorderly conduct by the wasted adults.

The staff was not very helpful and was completely unwilling to work with us to even find a spot to set up our tent.

I would NOT recommend this location seeing as we paid over $50 to sleep in a median of a road surrounded by loud, drunk, adults who do not understand what an acceptable drinking limit is.

Room Tip: Find a state park!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diana_Elders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

we came to sugarloaf key k.o.a, middle of feb.while here my tow vehicle boke down on a saturday.k.o.a.staff assured me they would accomadate me if my truck wasn,t repaired in time of departure.this is their busy season,but they reserved another spot for me if needed.i was referred to precision auto for pepairs,thay came towed my truck,gave me a more than resonable estimate for timely repairs.for those who complain about over crowding in the keys,too bad.monroe county does not limit the amount of visitors in the keys,the campgrounds,hotels,motels do their best to accomadate every visitor.you want private,go out in the middle of the everglades,the gators and misquitos will gladly make your stay a pleasant one.thank you sugarloaf k.o.a. employees for a pleasant stay. i'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugarloaf
17.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
15.4 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
193 reviews
18.8 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
280 reviews
8.2 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
916 reviews
17.1 mi away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

Address: 251 State Road 939, Mm 20, Sugarloaf, FL 33042-3806
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sugarloaf
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year. Set between the crystal clear Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean, Sugarloaf Key/Key West KOA is a true beachfront resort. You'll find amenities and activities designed to please everyone in the family, local fishing and beachside fun at the campground's own water haven. Dine under swaying palm trees and sip frozen margaritas on the waterfront veranda of the campground's pub. Even your family pet will have fun at the pet playground specifically designed for them. Ever-appealing Key West lies just 14 miles south. Hop on the campground's shuttle to this funky and historic end of the road, dubbed "the Conch Republic." Walk the narrow streets showcasing Conch architecture-breezy wood houses with lush tropical gardens-once home to pirates, treasure hunters, sailors, novelists like Hemingway and songwriters like Buffett. End the day with a sunset at Mallory Pier. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Key / Key West Koa Hotel Sugarloaf
Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing