We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pool, musty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Downtown Stuart
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although our room was clean and overlooked the pool, it had a musty smell that just hit you the minute you opened the door to the room. This is a very old motel that just doesn't get any sun in the rooms which contributes to the musty problem. The air conditioners blow this musty smell into the room. The room decor is dark with heavy comforters which hold the mustiness. We immediately took our clothes out for the next day and put our suitcases back in the car to avoid having all our things smell funky. The pool and pool area is absolutely wonderful. The pool was heated to a perfect temperature and it was delightful to enjoy the pool and the excellent breakfast in the morning. We were taken aback that this was a "Plus" property as the concrete sidewalks, laundry room and stairs were in desperate need of a real power wash. If these rooms could be freshened up, the air conditioners cleaned, and remove the carpeting and the unecessary heavy bedding, it could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwstuart, General Manager at Best Western Downtown Stuart, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed our pool and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We apologize that your room had a musty smell. Please know that your comments have been reviewed and steps are being taken to improve. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service and hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Charles Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 644 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this BW for one night on a trip to Miami.
The desk staff was excellent. Answering questions, providing details on the property, and helping with our BW rewards.
The property was very nice. Pool looked very inviting but unfortunately we arrived about the same time as a freak cold snap and could not take advantage.
The beds were quite comfortable and the rooms were pretty nice too.
The breakfast was better than many BWs we have stayed at. Hot food that was pretty tasty and plenty of coffee available too. There was a nice lady bringing coffee around much like a restaurant would do which was a nice surprise.
We would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandnSun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwstuart, General Manager at Best Western Downtown Stuart, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review on your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Stuart area.

Sincerely,
Charles Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our room was large, with a very comfortable king size bed. Nice big tv with fast free wifi, great shower. Breakfast was good, lot's to choose from and not too crowded. My only complaint was that our room had a bit of a funky smell, like the carpets had just been cleaned but had not dried completely and the room was a bit dark. Great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwstuart, General Manager at Best Western Downtown Stuart, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you found your stay to be a great value and hope to see you again on your next trip to the Stuart area.

Sincerely,
Charles Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bwstuart, General Manager at Best Western Downtown Stuart, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very clean rooms. Great Flat screen T.V. Free Wi-Fi. Comfortable, clean beds. Sparkling clean bathroom. A great, free breakfast. Lots of choices.
I enjoyed my stay at this motel.
Just one thing that was a slight bother was the train whistle at about 3 in the morning.
I would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwstuart, General Manager at Best Western Downtown Stuart, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We are delighted that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Charles Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the front, this seems like a city hotel. In addition to having all the amenites you would like, (free breakfast, newspapers, workout room, lounge area) the grounds have a lovely outdoor pool and landscaped area in an agora type setting within the arrangement of buildings that form the hotel rooms. Nice breakfast for one that is free. Staff members are friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Two story hotel has no elevators and the stairs are not wide, so we prefer a first floor room for ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank RICHARD M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuart hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#9 of 11 in Stuart
415 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#7 of 11 in Stuart
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Colorado Inn
Old Colorado Inn
#1 of 11 in Stuart
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Stuart
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Downtown Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Downtown Stuart

Address: 1209 SE Federal Hwy, Stuart, FL 34994-3824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stuart
#3 Family Hotel in Stuart
#4 Business Hotel in Stuart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stuart
Price Range: $83 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Downtown Stuart 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Downtown Stuart is the perfect blend of location and accommodations. Conveniently located near the center of activity, near shopping, championship golf courses, beaches and water sports. Hotel features free deluxe continental breakfast. Outdoor heated pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Downtown Stuart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Downtown Stuart Hotel Stuart
Best Western Stuart
Stuart Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing