We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected from a "Trip Advisor Award" winner”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Kitty Hawk, NC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from a "Trip Advisor Award" winner”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel displays a TA award on its high rating (????) and has everything you might not want: When we arrived we found out that we had been assigned a smoking room and that could not be changed because we booked prepay, no refund on PL and the "hotel was sold out" and there were no non smoking rooms available. Tip: Febreze does work to a substantial degree to help out this major issue for lifetime non smokers like us. Then as we were unloading, a plane flew over so low I thought it was landing in the field next door...........well it was, wife asked if I did not hear the previous plane and if I had not noticed the airport in back of the hotel.......Oh! THEN, the train went by...........seemed like next door...........Oh, it is/was. Then in the evening around 9:30.....the Tour Bus arrived and parked right outside our 2nd floor room. Finally, all was well and quiet UNTIL morning...........when the tour bus revved up its engine at 6:30...........
So you get it all: Planes, Trains, Buses not to mention the door, window and air conditioner that abuts the balcony area to let all of those sounds into the room along with people coming and going all evening/early morning.
I will say that the bed was the most comfortable one we had this trip at 3 other places............just wish it had been a little less smoky even post febreze treatment. Others might like the Tiki Bar and Karaoke which we did not do but seemed popular and might be for folks who rate this place differently

Room Tip: Don't stay in Stuart FL
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBXRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we apologize that due to
a high school event we were sold out this particular night and
unable to change your room accommodation for you. I am
very happy to hear that you slept well in a comforable bed.
Our goal every day is to provide good quality accommodations
at an affordable price and with the best in custoner service and
satisfaction. We cannot always control the elements that go along
with that as you mentioned planes, trains and a bus. Please do
come back and give us another chance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    98
    70
    53
    51
See reviews for
112
128
47
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Clarion in Stuart, Fl is a great place to stay, because of the tremendous customer service, kindness, & consideration that you will receive from the,Genral Mgr there, Hernan Mesquida. The rooms are fine, The beds are very comfortable with 4 fluffy pillows. There is a flatscreen TV, microwave, refrigerator, and a shower with great water pressure in your room- i cannot stand when the pressure is low and just drips. The prices are very affordable, the pool is nice, it is conveniently located, but what I liked most was how iI was treated. I looked at ocean front hotels nearby on Hutchinson Island for two to three times as much money, with not that much to offer for the prices they charge. Everything is ala-carte at those places, charging $6 for an egg sandwich in the morning; I went inside the hotels and was very glad to be staying at the Clarion. The lobbys may be more posh, but i want to be out and about during the day. At the Clarion Inn in Stuart, beach access is only mins away. It's like choosing a first class ticket on a plane- is it worth that much more to fly first class? I think not, so if you have to have that first-class label where you receive a snotty attitude, go to the Breakers in Palm Beach- I have stayed there and would choose this hotel in a second, which i have for the second time. As long as the GM, Hernan Mesquida is here i will be back here every year, if not more. My dad was in an assisted care facility a mile away, the reason I first chose the Clarion Inn in Staurt, FL. i received a call a few days ago saying that my dad took a major turn for the worse- so I went to newark airport in the early AM, miraculously got a flight, asnd rushed to the Clarion. When i arrived, I was told the the 3rd party booking agent booked me a month later than i requested, when i told them the night before that my dad was on his deathbed.. Naturally I was very stressed and panicked. Hernan Mesquida, calmly with much empathy for my situation, said do not worry, booked me a room immediately, and said to not worry about the booking one month in the future- he would solve it for me, to go be wth my dad and not to worry. Clarion hotel staff have also expressed their condolences- so yes, i felt i ws treated like family. Yesterday Hernan Mesquida knocked on my room door and let me know that my phone was off the hook, and did I know it? What a great guy! Next to the words outstanding "customer service " should be Hernan's picture- this is no B.S. i have been in the lobby alot since my dad passed where there are two comuters with internet access, doing my online school work. I have seen Hernan handle a multitude of situations with grace and kindness. this is a day before the blizzard nemo is hitting the northeast so there are a lot of people staying later and arriving earlier than anticipated. another great thing about the Clarion is the full breakfast you may eat from 6:30 AM to 10 30 AM , at no charge with your host Diego , who is a true character,always upbeat and ready to make you the best, fresh waffles you have tasted, carrying redi-whip for your waffles. the breakfast includes a buffet of eggs, sausages, orange juice, other fruit juices,coffee,different brands of cereal, donuts, fresh fruit, bagels,toast, etc.. The hotel has a restuarant and bar with entertainment, so if you wwant to have a few drinks, you do not have to drive..one final thing regarding Hernan, i wanted to get the name of his district mgr so i could compliment him and tell the district mgr what a great asset Hernan is to the Clarion organization. he smiled and said it was not necessary,that he doesn't want any medals, and helping people is his reward. if only the rest of the world could adopt Hernan's Mesquida's philosophy, it would be a much better place. doug

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review of your stay with us during
a very sad time in your life. We are happy that we were able
to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable and that our General
Manager Hernan Mesquida was such a help and benefit as well.
We strive every day to make our guests feel that they are
at home when staying with us and provide the best guest
satisfaction we can. Take care and do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Now I have stayed at both the Clarion and the Best Western,I find that the Clarion has a slight edge,but only slight.Both are clean and very friendly places to stay. The Clarions rooms are a bit larger,but the free breakfast at the Best Western was better,and more kid friendly. Yeah,both places you hear the train ( no biggie), but folks,if you want value and a nice clean room,Clarion and Best Western are pretty much equal. What I really liked best was that both front desks agree,so,take your choice hit the beach with the kids,or as a couple and have fun! Oh Yeah,don't miss Flanigans!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayfairWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of our hotel being friendly and
clean. We work hard to provide great service and accommodations
to our guests at an affordable price. Glad to hear you checked
out our beaches and found them to your liking. We will look
forward to having you back again to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

If you don't have a family get a room AWAY from the pool area. The noise from the kids and adults is incessant. The train shaking the rooms doesn't help either. So if you like screaming kids and trains this is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spadgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay with us here
at the Clarion Stuart. We are sorry to hear that your poolside
room was a little noisy from families with children by the pool.
Our large heated outdoor pool is very popular with guests. Do
come again and we will place you in a quieter location for sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stuart hotels

Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay here when we visit friends in Stuart. Nice, clean rooms. The pool is great and the Tiki bar is a blast.
The breakfast is great.
A good value.

Very close to dining and shopping.
We have never had a problem of any kind during our stays that this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant M, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay and our
property. We love that you found everything pleasant and comfortable.
Please do come again and visit!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The phrase "home away from home" might have been invented for this Clarion Inn! The rooms are spacious, clean and inviting, as is the pool and all other sections of this locale. The stellar component, however, is the fabulous staff, led by the most gracious manager on the planet, Hernan. He is a treasure. You are immediately made welcome by the front desk staff, who start that process even before you arrive, when you make your reservations. Cherie, Tessa and Jamie are tickled pink to sign you in and direct you to your room. The entire staff respond to every request or suggestion almost before you can verbalize it, and they are a collection of lovely, somewhat eccentric individuals who truly love their jobs and their customers. The head of housekeeping, Violetta, shyly confessed that she feels the facility is actually her own, and she wants guests to feel as comfortable as they would visiting a friend's home. Her husband, Tony, keeps everything running in good order and cannot bear the thought that something might be functioning in a disappointing manner.
Diego, the cook, starts your day off with waffles and happy singing as he almost dances from the kitchen to and through the dining room. He makes feeding you breakfast seem the realization of his heart's dearest desire. Pierre and Jamal patrol the grounds and make sure you feel secure. Stuart is the home of Burt Reynold's school and theatre, but our beloved Bandit is not the only star in town. Hernan's heroes are starring in their own show over at the Clarion for a long-running engagement. Do come see these friendly folks!

Room Tip: I like the ones by the pool, but I think all the rooms are good. Ice and vending are located in cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant M, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Wow! What a fun review to read. Thank you for your vivid descriptions
of all our very dedicated staff and especially we are grateful that you
enjoyed your stay and they each made you feel at home while providing
you with excellent guest service. We also appreciate you felt your room
accomodations were above standards. Take care and we do hope you'll be back
soon to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently stayed here for 1 night while driving from Stuart to Miami for a cruise. We like the area as there were many options within walking distance (wouldn't recommend walking alone) however there were six of us in two rooms. The rooms were clean and amenities perfectly fine for one night! The pool was advertised as heated however it was very cold! The tiki was great with many locals that we enjoyed getting to know. The breakfast was good and plentiful, Diego made some great waffles!!! If we are ever in the area again and need a place for a great price we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for pool side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelenfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant M, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was recently.
So glad you found the staff friendly and enjoyed our outside Tiki Bar and locals.
Our apologies if the pool was not quite the right temperature, but we have taken
note and will have it checked by our maintenance engineer. Do stop in and pay
us another visit, we are upgrading this week to 32" flatscreen tvs in all our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuart hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
0.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Stuart
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#8 of 11 in Stuart
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old Colorado Inn
Old Colorado Inn
#1 of 11 in Stuart
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
5.3 mi away
Courtyard Stuart
Courtyard Stuart
#4 of 11 in Stuart
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 1200 S Federal Hwy, Stuart, FL 34994-3825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion-Stuart offers complimentary full breakfast and our breakfast ambassador is the best in town. Our hotel is equipped for all activities, room accommodation, small or large meeting and banquet facilities, exercise room and business center. We are minutes away from the Roger Dean Stadium, Met's Stadium, Lyric Theatre, Elliott Museum (largest collection of antique cars in the country), Martin Memorial Hospital, Stuart Jet center, and the Treasure Coast Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stuart
Stuart Ramada Inn
Ramada Inn Stuart Fl
Ramada Stuart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing