We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place the locals go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Marlin

The Black Marlin
Ranked #45 of 273 Restaurants in Stuart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great cozy little Bar and restaurant located in the center of historic Downtown Stuart. Happy hour that includes 2 for 1s on wine and drinks as well as appetizers as low as $6 from 4:00pm-6:00pm daily. Known for our professional staff, great meal options, and well made cocktails, this is the perfect place to come for a great experience in Downtown Stuart.
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The place the locals go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This establishment has been in operation for years and is never disappointing. Yes, sometimes a seasonal wait, but welcome to South Florida. The food, service, and atmosphere is remarkable. The locals are friendly and welcoming. They wait too, but with a drink in their hand. So hang out and talk while waiting to be seated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart Fl
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“what a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

everything about this place was great ... great food and great location . had a great dinner . Love Stuart .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fresh but bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Oh my goodness, what to say. We ended up at the bar, no problem, the service was very attentive and we have no complaints except we were told the place was totally full when we grabbed two chairs at the bar, go figure...the issue was with the food. I think the best way to describe it is “super fresh”, “totally boring”. We ordered an order of grouper fingers (we love grouper) for an appetizer. They were cooked perfectly, breaded beautifully but had absolutely no FLAVOR. Given some old bay seasoning, herbs or other seasonings, those babies would have been a home run...instead a strike out. Then we both made the mistake of ordering the special..Hog Fish snapper. It was a super fresh wonderful flavored fish from Florida.....but ended up cardboard city. Probably unfair as we had the Hogfish at the Riverwalk which was to die for. This was a cooked perfectly, white filet of tasteless fish. If you like bland, fresh food, this place is for you, if you want some flavor, I am sorry to say, not here

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

When we first poked our head in the door, we didn't stay. But we came back because we liked what was on the menu and the food turned out to be very good and the service was great. What more can we ask for?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank florida8349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What's wrong with 9 and December??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

There is good news for locals and not so good news for others. Visitors should note reservations cannot be relied on. As you can see from many other reviews this is a favorite hangout for locals. It features an extended bar, standard menu with a few specials, limited but satisfactory wine list, with seating at booths and some tables but only a single table for parties of 6 or more. Our party of 9 experienced much the same treatment as a party of 9 who reviewed Black Marlin in 2012. When we called about 5, we were told a large party had just arrived and they should be able to seat us at 7pm. Just before 6 we got a call saying the early party was not using their table and to come as soon as we were ready as the table was free. When we arrived about 6:35, the place was full with a waiting list. We were then informed by Andrea incorrectly (verified when we replayed the phone message) and very rudely that we were supposed to call to say we were coming. It was clear that another large party had arrived and been seated at our table and told they needed to be done by 7. We were seated at 7:15 after they finished their rushed meal. We also observed another interesting seating event later. There were still 3 groups waiting, a local couple arrived and waved to the bar staff. The lady sat down and her partner, checked out the tables found one that had just been reset, sat down and motioned for the lady to join him. They were then served immediately. A minute or so later, the gentle hostess, Hannah, called the next waiting couple and took them to the table she had just reset and was shocked to discover that it was now occupied by the intrusive regulars who studiously ignored her. Hannah apologized to the waiting couple - as she had done a couple of times to us during our wait - who clearly thought they had been misled. Fortunately they were seated a few minutes later when a second table opened up.
Service by Michael was quite good for a full restaurant with just 2 regular servers, food and prices were comparable to many other casual dining places in the area. Caveat emptor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Marlin also viewed

 

Been to The Black Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing