We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great happy hour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wahoo's Riverhouse - CLOSED

Wahoo's Riverhouse
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Orlando
Level Contributor
154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good prices on wine and mixed drinks during happy hour. Had the conch fritter, crab balls and smoked fish dip. All great. Ate outside. Had music& a beautiful view. Valet parking was a mess, so find your own parking if possible. This place is hard to find - hidden within a condo complex at the marina. Worth finding though. A great place with friendly servers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl3414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    51
    25
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a great place! Since the new owners took over Wahoos has completly done a 360. The food is top quality and the seafood is super fresh. I have not found crab cakes tis good since I was in Maryland. Tons of crabmeat and great flavor. I have had a number of their nightly dinner specials and they all have been incredible. Prices are very reasonable compared to the other waterfront restaurants in the area. The service staff is super friendly, very attentive, and fun. Ask for one of the Chris's, there are quite a few and they are all fun and will take great care of you. Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful all around place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This wasn't our first choice for dining, but the establishment we originally want to eat at was closed on Monday. In the final analysis their decision was our gain. This isn't the easiest place to find. Though it says it is on a road it felt as if we were cutting through one parking lot after another. The restaurant is on the second floor but they do have an elevator for those with difficulty climbing steps.
Though we stood by the station to be seated for a minute, it was apparent that it was seat yourself on Monday. We opted for a table overlooking the waterfront and wasn't disappointed. It was obvious the floor was the ceiling of the overhang with gaps in the floor, thus if someone was walking underneath it was possible to be bombarded with food falling through the cracks. Nonetheless it adds to the charm of the place.
Our server promptly came over with menus and since we really didn't know what to drink yet, she offered to get us some water while we decided, a very professional touch. After drink menus we had a conch fritter appetizer, and my wife ordered the happy hour platter, while I opted for the fish tacos.
The fritters were long on the conch and short on the breading. In fact they appeared to be just rolled in crumbs and flash fried. The remoulade sauce had just enough spice to suit. These could become a seriously bad habit if I lived here.
When our meals arrived not a thing appeared to be premade. Every piece of my wife's platter was hand dipped and she had the mother of all onion rings as the centerpiece. The crab balls were almost all crab, with minimal filling. My tacos had one long piece of blackened mahi instead of being chopped up, which meant the fish stayed in the tortilla. The black beans and rice were the real deal.
Though Wahoo's was my second choice, it has become my first whenever we are up this way again. Great food, nice menu selection, and a spectacular view of the St. Lucie River. The prices are more than fair, about $25 per person including drinks. The happy hour specials help- draft pints were $3.25. We have paid more and received much, much less.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Earl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“My new favorite in Stuart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went with friends for just a drink. Arrived about 5 on Friday. Great waterfront view, friendly service. We found their prices to be very reasonable. Their nice dinners are priced fairly and they have very inexpensive specials. We each had a Manhattan to drink, a bigger serving than usual and only $4. I couldn't resist the escargot with puff pastry. To die for, excellent sauce and a generous serving for $10.99. Tried our friend's Fireworks Shrimp and loved it. We all four agreed, for open air, water-front dining and drinking, best we have tried in Stuart. We will be back. Google for directions as it is a little hard to find. Finally, kudos to our server, Tom, smiling, friendly, and laid back, none of the hyper "let me tell you our specials." Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie-in-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family really enjoyed this restaurant. In fact, we came back twice after our first experience.

The positives:

food was very good. They actually know how to prepare fish which we have found is not the case in most of Florida, (except Roy's).

The food was reasonably priced and the laconic view of the river and water made dining even more pleasurable.

Service was good, and obviously everyone was trying very hard to create a satisfactory experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Riverhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing