We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Innovative & Exellent”

Ian's Tropical Grill
Ranked #69 of 279 Restaurants in Stuart
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always Innovative & Exellent”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been dining at Ian's Tropical Grill since it was located in the Rio section of North Stuart. The food has always been excellent and the service as well. The old location was beer and wine and at this location they acquired a liquor license; they have a must try coconut mojito. The menu is as eclectic as it has always been and Chef Eric(Iron Chef) shines with his new establishment. The roasted oysters are out of this world and the Duck is to die for. The wine list is thought out and marries well with the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigkahuna1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    42
    37
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jerey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Update From Prior Visit - Enjoyed A Tapas Approach”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We last visited Ian's in early February, 2013. We decided to return and try a different approach for dinner. We had a different experience during this visit, which left us with an improved impression of the restaurant. We visited on a Thursday evening and we again sat outside. We arrived early, with no reservation, though we had a good selection of tables, from which we were allowed to select. (When we left the restaurant appeared quite full of patrons). We decided to take a shared tapas approach to dinner. There is a long list of starter selections. We started with fried spinach and sesame seared edamame. Both were memorable. Next we had the shrimp and grits and the fish taco. The shrimp and grits is a must. The third course was two fried oysters, quite good. We completed the meal with the pork belly, a delicious closer. The meal was started with grain chips and bean dip. The only disappointment was we ordered a bottle of chardonnay, at $32, but we were informed the selected wine was not available. The alternative was a bottle at $38, but it was a good selection that complemented the meal. By the end of our meal we were quite satisfied, as the dish sizes were quite sufficient for two. With tax the meal was $82, for which the wine was about half the price. Our waiter was quite supportive in selecting the dishes and ensured the dishes were delivered in stages. He was also quite attentive during the meal. All in all, an enjoyable dining experience. During this visits we stayed away from the mixed drinks, which disappointed us, during our prior visit. Without the wine, the two of us ate for less than $40 and we were quite happy with the food. We decided that the restaurant would deserve a return visit, and the tapas approach was the way to enjoy the evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Grouper”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had made reservations for a group of six at Ian's. We were seated promptly outside, and although it was chilly, the heaters kept us comfortably warm. We ordered the fried spinach as an appetizer and it was unusually good. Crunchy, yet it melted in your mouth. Salads were delicious and fresh. The best part of the meal was the grouper, which was absolutely delicious! We all shared a creme brulee for dessert which was the ending to a wonderful dinner. My only complaint was that the service was slow. Our waiter did a very good job, but they seemed to be understaffed. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mustangsally685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Tuna”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were there on a Friday night, with another couple. Starter was a conch salad which was an interesting preparation, very tasty, a bit chewy as conch is. The pistachio-encrusted tuna entree ranks among the best I have ever had - very fresh, beautiful melt-in-your-mouth quality. The other apps - rock shrimp ceviche, oysters, and fish taco had great flavors. The hogfish entrees were rated highly also. Only the duck entree was considered a disappointment. Have been going to Ian's for at least 13 years now, and they always have very fresh fish, great service, and a fabulous wine list. This latest visit was no exception.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clemence_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No longer a good place to eat...”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We occasionally dined at Ian's before they moved to their new location. The old location was cramped, but the food was pretty good and the service was as well. Now that they've moved to fancier digs, they think too much of themselves. Since reservations were recommended, we made them. When we arrived, the dining room was all but empty, but the hostess said we'd have to eat outside because "all these people made reservations." We pointed out that we'd made reservations, too, but she insisted. As others have noted, their outdoor dining is right on a busy street and so is very noisy. It was also quite cold that evening, so we were seated under a kerosene heater. When the heater was running, it was too hot. When it turned off, it became very cool very quickly. Instead of serving bread before (or even with!) the meal, each table was served a basket of popcorn. We inquired what the bread plates might be for and were told that some people used them to share appetizers. The food was less than memorable for all four of us, but maybe that's because we were so unimpressed with all the other amenities. This restaurant is not inexpensive and it just doesn't measure up. I would advise you take your business elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ian's Tropical Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ian's Tropical Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing