We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Inn with historic old Florida Charm”
Review of Old Colorado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Colorado Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived the service and attention to detail was impeccable. We were even given an overview of the history of the building and the walls are lined with old photographs of the inn from the early 1900's. The room had the original Dade County pine floors and a beautiful pine ceiling in the bedroom. The room was spotless with every detail thought of, from a nice selection of coffees and teas to cookies waiting for us after a day of shopping. Old historic Stuart felt very charming and has a nice variety of shops, coffee houses, and excellent resturaunts. We have stayed at many Inns and B&B's across the country, the Old Colorado Inn ranks very high on our list.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRIANB_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 328 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Old Colorado Inn...restored to perfection...is a "jewel" in downtown Stewart.. Listed as a FL boutique hotel..it is so much more than that. The inn has a well appointed upscale vibe one might find on Duval St in Key West. We chose the 1940's revival cottage with two separate bedrooms, a lovely kitchen with original cupboards and a shabby chic buffet. The living area is casual island style and the pretty bathroom has all the mod cons including washer and dryer. At the back of the cottage was our own private patio..set amid bouginvilla and tropical foliage. Ernest Hemingway would be proud to call this home. Our host Steven is a born people pleaser and provided us with lots of surprises and goodies. He is an amazingly thoughtful man. With all the restaurants and shops in walking distance and the Key Lime Cafe in the center of the compound...it is a slice of heaven!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Old Colorado Inn in downtown Stuart is a wonderful place to stay. Steve the owner is so kind and wants to meet all your needs; he also delivers unexpected extras - we came back New Years Eve to a plate of goodies! The Inn is in an ideal location, numerous restaurants and shops in walking distance, a short drive to many beaches. Steve has gone out of his way to make the experience wonderful for everyone. The beds are fantastic as are the sheets, pillows and bath towels. I mentioned that I might need an iron and within minutes an iron and ironing board were delivered. I can't say enough about how wonderful his hospitality is. This is a property you should definitely check out!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJBair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I were able to spend New Years eve in this wonderful renovated Inn. We were able to walk over to the Sailor's Return for a sunset cocktail, had a drink at the Black Marlin, dinner at Duffy's and finished the evening drinking wine and champagne on the balcony just off our room at the Inn. Steve Vitale, the owner/manger did a wonderful job providing us with evening treats and sweets. The next morning a basket of fresh bagels and orange juice, as well as the newspaper, were hung on our door. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The kitchen in our room was fully equipped and we loved the pillows on our bed. Don't miss this opportunity to enjoy downtown Stuart and all that it has to offer. You are only steps from the waterfront, Lyric theater, great shopping and fun dining.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been renovated and are very inviting. We enjoyed our room because it was located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn to celebrate his 50th Birthday. Although we are Stuart "locals",we felt like we were away staying in a quaint little village! The Iocation of the Inn allowed us to walk to many of our favorite downtown spots giving us a totally different experience. The accomdations were amazing! The bed was so cozy and comfortable. The room was very clean and the decor gives it a very elegant feel. I am so excited to have this available for friends and family to enjoy in Stuart I have been spreading the word!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I just stayed here for a "bounce back" weekend. We had such a great time. We had a very elegant 1BR apartment with a great kitchen, modern bathrooms and luxurious sheets! The owners thought of everything - bottled water, roses, lovely bagels and muffins for breakfast, and so much more! The hotel is centrally located in downtown Stuart, seconds away from shopping, dinner at Osceola Street cafe, lunch at the key lime cafe downstairs, and nightlife at "The Blue Door." I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amack3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have never been so thoroughly taken care while staying at an Inn. The inn keeper, Steven Vitale, was gracious and charming and continually exceeded our expectations. There was no questioin that Steven genuinely wanted to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Although not an official bed and breakfast, we experienced the charm, warmth and personal care that one usually experiences from a bed and breakfast. Our room was newly renovated and clean, the bed mattress was amazing, the room furnishings were top notch, we had a fully equiped convienience kitchen, and the atmosphere was that of an old Inn of years gone by. The Inn is located amoungst downtown Stuart's boutique shops and restaurants, all within walking distance. There is no question that we will visit this Inn again when we return to Stuart, and would highly recommend the Old Colorado Inn to anyone looking for something more interesting than the standard pedestrian hotels.

Room Tip: Our bathroom didn't have a bathtub (the shower however was very nice), but Steven did mention th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuart
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
0.8 mi away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#9 of 11 in Stuart
412 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Stuart
Courtyard Stuart
#4 of 11 in Stuart
268 reviews
5.8 mi away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colorado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colorado Inn

Address: 211 Colorado Ave, Stuart, FL 34994-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Price Range: $157 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Colorado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated boutique hotel is located in the heart of Historic Downtown Stuart, FL, one block from the beautiful St. Lucie River. We offer deluxe studios, luxury suites and a charming coastal cottage that all have fully equipped kitchenettes/kitchens, refinished antique hardwood floors, marble tiled bathrooms, free wi-fi, new flat screen televisions, and luxurious mattresses and linens. We provide free parking and complimentary breakfast, newspaper, and stocked Kuerig coffee and tea stations. A wide variety of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment are at your doorstep in Downtown Stuart and the beautiful beaches and golf courses of the Treasure Coast are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Old Colorado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing