We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All we could ever need...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Colorado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Colorado Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Certificate of Excellence
Grinnell, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All we could ever need...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Old Colorado Inn in downtown Stuart is a wonderful place to stay. Steve the owner is so kind and wants to meet all your needs; he also delivers unexpected extras - we came back New Years Eve to a plate of goodies! The Inn is in an ideal location, numerous restaurants and shops in walking distance, a short drive to many beaches. Steve has gone out of his way to make the experience wonderful for everyone. The beds are fantastic as are the sheets, pillows and bath towels. I mentioned that I might need an iron and within minutes an iron and ironing board were delivered. I can't say enough about how wonderful his hospitality is. This is a property you should definitely check out!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJBair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
160
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I were able to spend New Years eve in this wonderful renovated Inn. We were able to walk over to the Sailor's Return for a sunset cocktail, had a drink at the Black Marlin, dinner at Duffy's and finished the evening drinking wine and champagne on the balcony just off our room at the Inn. Steve Vitale, the owner/manger did a wonderful job providing us with evening treats and sweets. The next morning a basket of fresh bagels and orange juice, as well as the newspaper, were hung on our door. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The kitchen in our room was fully equipped and we loved the pillows on our bed. Don't miss this opportunity to enjoy downtown Stuart and all that it has to offer. You are only steps from the waterfront, Lyric theater, great shopping and fun dining.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been renovated and are very inviting. We enjoyed our room because it was located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn to celebrate his 50th Birthday. Although we are Stuart "locals",we felt like we were away staying in a quaint little village! The Iocation of the Inn allowed us to walk to many of our favorite downtown spots giving us a totally different experience. The accomdations were amazing! The bed was so cozy and comfortable. The room was very clean and the decor gives it a very elegant feel. I am so excited to have this available for friends and family to enjoy in Stuart I have been spreading the word!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I just stayed here for a "bounce back" weekend. We had such a great time. We had a very elegant 1BR apartment with a great kitchen, modern bathrooms and luxurious sheets! The owners thought of everything - bottled water, roses, lovely bagels and muffins for breakfast, and so much more! The hotel is centrally located in downtown Stuart, seconds away from shopping, dinner at Osceola Street cafe, lunch at the key lime cafe downstairs, and nightlife at "The Blue Door." I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amack3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have never been so thoroughly taken care while staying at an Inn. The inn keeper, Steven Vitale, was gracious and charming and continually exceeded our expectations. There was no questioin that Steven genuinely wanted to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Although not an official bed and breakfast, we experienced the charm, warmth and personal care that one usually experiences from a bed and breakfast. Our room was newly renovated and clean, the bed mattress was amazing, the room furnishings were top notch, we had a fully equiped convienience kitchen, and the atmosphere was that of an old Inn of years gone by. The Inn is located amoungst downtown Stuart's boutique shops and restaurants, all within walking distance. There is no question that we will visit this Inn again when we return to Stuart, and would highly recommend the Old Colorado Inn to anyone looking for something more interesting than the standard pedestrian hotels.

Room Tip: Our bathroom didn't have a bathtub (the shower however was very nice), but Steven did mention th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I can't say enough good things about the Old Colorado Inn but I'm going to try...

Although the hotel is housed in a historic building, everything in it is BRAND NEW. I was literally the seventh guest to stay at the inn.

The owners, long-time Stuart residents Steve and Ashley, have done an amazing job of restoring the building and decorating the rooms. I had the opportunity to see every room, as well as the free-standing cottage, an every single one was spotlessly clean and beautifully designed. The rooms are completely modern and yet retain the historic charm of the property.

Everything in the room provided comfort and enjoyment: great bedding, plush towels, wonderfully smelling toiletries, very comfortable couch, flat screen TV, etc.

Unfortunately, I wasn't there long enough to make much use of the fully-equipped kitchen in my suite, but I loved all the types of coffee that I was able to make with a touch of a buttton on the keurig single cup coffee maker.

I also loved the historic photos that lined the hallways: a very nice touch that added to inn's charm.

It was wonderful being able to walk just a few steps to Stuart's downtown restaurants and shops. I was very surprised by the quantity and quality of both. I defintely need more time in Stuart to explore the area and perhaps check out a show at the nearby Lyric Theater.

But my favorite part of my stay at the Old Colorado was meeting Steve and Ashley. Although they are new to the hotel business, they are by nature sincerely hospitable and couldn't have been more welcoming. They were genuinely concerned with making sure that I enjoyed every aspect of my experience at the Old Colorado and I definitely did.

I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

Room Tip: Every room was great. Just depends on how much room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHollywoodFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuart
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Stuart
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Stuart
Courtyard Stuart
#4 of 11 in Stuart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#7 of 11 in Stuart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#8 of 11 in Stuart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colorado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colorado Inn

Property: Old Colorado Inn
Address: 211 Colorado Ave, Stuart, FL 34994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Colorado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated boutique hotel is located in the heart of Historic Downtown Stuart, FL, one block from the beautiful St. Lucie River. We offer deluxe studios, luxury suites and a charming coastal cottage that all have fully equipped kitchenettes/kitchens, refinished antique hardwood floors, marble tiled bathrooms, free wi-fi, new flat screen televisions, and luxurious mattresses and linens. We provide free parking and complimentary breakfast, newspaper, and stocked Kuerig coffee and tea stations. A wide variety of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment are at your doorstep in Downtown Stuart and the beautiful beaches and golf courses of the Treasure Coast are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Old Colorado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing