We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day cruise”

Island Princess Cruises
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great day cruise”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went on their 4 hour cruise on a Tuesday, we had beautiful weather and the guide was great, he talked the whole way through to Jupiter Island but we just got to enjoy the views on the way back to music. Nice size boat, good lunch and good drinks! I would definitely recommend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calilove16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    17
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hedesunda
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The island Princess cruise”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

a wonderful relaxing way to see the Intercoastal .What gigantic homes ! The atmosphere was friendly and the captains anecdotes and information were really appreciated. "it's 5 oclock somewhere" is great memory of this trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HedesundaDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sun, nature, beautiful homes, while cruising, what could be better!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Cruised along Jupiter Island on the well maintained Island Princess. The captain gave an interesting commentary about the trees, birds, fish, reptiles, dolphins, manatees, homes, people of the area, past and present. His talk was conversational, educational and fun. The lunch was a fresh, generous croissant sandwich, fruit and yummy cookie. Totally great day on the water.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Nice, Long Boat Ride”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

For a little over $40, the Island Princess offers a nice ride down the Indian River to the Jupiter Lighthouse and back to Stuart, the home port of the cruise company. There were four of us, this fine, February morning. We were told to report to the marina by 10 am to board for a four hour, round-trip cruise, scheduled to start at 10:30 am. We arrived on time and were shepherded into the parking lot by an attendant who later became the Captain of our ship. Who knew? To our surprise, the two decker yacht handled about 150 passengers, seemingly 75% of whom were already onboard, having captured most of the outdoor seats and tables, by the time we arrived. Undaunted, we perched ourselves, somewhat tightly, in a few remaining spots on the upper deck, toward the bow, in front of the wheelhouse. All in all, a good place to sit.

The ship sailed, figuratively speaking, pretty promptly, close to 10:30. The first part of the trip down the river was quiet, along banks festooned with Florida mangroves. The Captain, to his credit, provided a non-stop commentary about the nature of the place, talking about the fish life (sharks in the river) to the beauty and uncivilized nature of much of Jupiter Island. Pretty soon, about an hour into the cruise, we began to sight the mega-mansions of the rich, and sometimes famous, that festoon much of the shoreline of Jupiter Island (think Tiger Woods, Celine Dione). The places are quiet large and spectacular, often in somewhat of a garish way. There are a lot of them and, after a while, the sight of these properties becomes a bit dulling.

The cruise lasts for four hours. It takes two hours down the river from Stuart to Jupiter. It can't be rushed. The speed on the river is dictated by the authorities and one can't speed, lest it disturb the carefully maintained habitat of the manatees, who loll along the river banks and can sometimes be spotted in the clearer water in Jupiter. Lunch is served at the turning point, about two hours into the trip. It was a nice lunch. A deli meat sandwich with some fresh fruit and a cookie. The lunch is included in the admission price but, somewhat surprisingly, there was an extra charge if you wanted a soft drink. There is also full bar service.

The trip seemed a little long to us. I think that we would have preferred something more like a two hour cruise, perhaps from Jupiter, which would have been closer to the big houses than from Stuart where this cruise begins. The commentary was good. It was educational. All in all it was a good day. Not great. Perhaps average.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBQUEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Family Day”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had seen the presentation for this attraction several times. Last Friday we got to experience it.
Captain Bob was on hand in the parking lot to facilitate easy parking of your car and to
GREET YOU. That made one relax immediately.

The ship is impressive and beautiful!! Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. Outbound to Jupiter, Captain Bob told the history of the area, while driving the boat, and looking for unique birds, flora, and living water critters. He is a very interesting and busy Captain!!. We saw an Alligator, and many Dolphin

When we arrived at Jupiter his expertise of the area , and the mansion ownership was tremendous. He has a knack of picking out interesting bits of information about so many things,
letting one know just how secluded this area is... One never got bored, maybe a little envious of the homes, but then we all have so much more freedom than the occupants of these houses.
Getting into the Golf Club is extremely difficult, but justified..

I've heard so much about the lunch served on this cruise, I didn't really believe what I had heard. Well believe me when I say it was FRESHLY MADE!! THE ELEGANT SANDWICH WAS DELICIOUS, AS WAS THE FRUIT AND FRESHLY MADE COOKIE. The presentation was bright and cheerful and the service from the staff excellent!! Such Efficiency!!

A great thing for families is that with the downstairs inside tables and chairs in the A/C, and the upstairs outside, there is a lot of room for young ones (5-14) to be free..if they have a camera, they seemed to be in heaven, looking for the sights...and there were clean HEADS upstairs and downstairs. Too much sunburn, a windy or cold day...it a lifesaver for a vacation.
Great for family, friends, and couples. (Get there early to secure an upstairs table.)

Yes, I would go Again!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori556, Owner at Island Princess Cruises, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for that awesome review Shirley! It is so flattering some may think you are my Mother. I assure everyone that we have never met.
I have to correct you on one point. We did not see an alligator. I talk about them and the fact that we don't see them because the Indian River Lagoon is primarily saltwater. Perhaps, you thought I was pointing one out because I talked about them or you meant to say a manatee, which are common on the cruise this time of year. Anyway, thanks again for the great review and please introduce yourself to me next time you cruise with us.
Sincerely, Capt. Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Princess Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Island Princess Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing