We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT NEW STAFF N REMODELING N NEW OWNERS!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Times Motel and Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Good Times Motel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Steinhatchee
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT NEW STAFF N REMODELING N NEW OWNERS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Wow, is the first I can say! The place is looking awesome since there's new owners n new management. New Beds, some newly remodeled rooms. The management are pleasent and very fun! I so can't wait for their bar n restuarant to open, they said in a week or so! They now have gas again as well! I'm glad I decided to come back as It was a great improvement all around!! Can't wait to return during scallop season!! :))

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
23
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adel, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Gulf Stream Marina and Lodge use to be the best place to stay at Steinhatchee. I've visited several times and had the best service and accommodations that could be expected. The bar and restaurant was always hoppin and the atmosphere was superb!!! I've really missed this place over the past couple years. I recently found out they have been purchased and should be opening with better service in a couple months. I really hope they get the tiki bar and restaurant back open with entertainment again.

I hate to hear all the bad reviews, but when management changes things suffer. I'm just glad to hear it may be changing for the better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here for the weekend for a family scalloping trip. From the moment we checked in, we felt like we were "bothereing" the woman at the front desk. Do not let their advertising fool you, there is no restaurant or tiki bar on the premises, its closed down and has been for quite some time. Our room was filthy, dust, and cobwebs everywhere. Lights didn't work, bathroom door didn't close (which is an issue when you have 6 people staying in a room). The handrails to the stairs leading into the "cabin" were duct taped together, and the blinds and curtains were also duct taped to keep them in place. The oven didn't work, and as per front desk, housekeeping does not do housekeeping, they only drop off towels. I would certainly expect a lot more for $174 a night. What made it really bad, is that when we voiced our complaints at the front desk, the woman never even looked up at us or acknowledged anything we said. When I asked if i could speak to someone who actually cares, like an owner or manager, she told me that there was no one to talk to, because the bank owns the hotel. I assure you, that next season we will not be staying at this dump!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unhappycamper1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Spent two nights in this deplorable establishment during the July 2011 Scalloping season. From the time we arrived the front desk woman was rude and uniterested in making our stay even close to enjoyable. The room was filthy! On top of that the bathroom door wouldn't close, the oven didn't work, there were lights not working in the kitchen area and the outside area. They charged us 4 dollars a bag for ice and the ice machine was pad locked after 6pm! Really? The railing leading up to the room was duct taped together (a hazard for anyone). The Tiki bar is closed and is still advertised on the website as "the best seafood in town". When we mentioned all of this when we checked out the front desk person didn't even care about any of it!!!!! $174.00 a night!!! What a rip off! We were told that the bank owns the property and there is no one to pass on our concerns to. Yea, right! I'm disputing the charge on my credit card.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misttampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

Be warned that this place has a TWO WEEK cancellation policy. Due to Hurriance Ida we canceled our stay and we were still charged our deposit even though we called 5 days ahead. It seems ridiculous that they'd charge someone who called to cancel this far in advance. Needless to say they won't be getting our business and I hope this rating will deter others as well.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cabopc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick, ga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was our fourth time staying at Gulfstream Hotel and Marina. We were sad to see that they were under new management since the old crew was awesome. After just the first day, we found that the new staff was just as welcoming as the old ones. We even invited them to eat with us a couple of times. There were thirty five of us so some of them had to stay in the condos next door. They ended up staying out on our dock and porch more than they stayed on their own (which was very expensive). We had such a good time that we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louma725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

The Gulf Stream is under new management and the staff has nearly turned over completely as of late. You can tell by the way they treat their customers that they are aiming to make everyone feel like they are at home. From the store staff to the bar staff (yes, there is a bar and restaurant on site) to the owners and the housekeeping - everyone aimed to be friendly and courteous without being meddling. Little cabins open up to a view of the Steinhatchee River which is a mile up from the Gulf. Boats are available for rental. Scalloping and fishing is at the heart of this community. Good for birders and certainly a wonderful place for family members of all ages. Would also be wonderful for private parties and events. Great rates and exceptional service. I am very happy with my experience.

  • Liked — Quaint individual cabins and group cabins on the river.
  • Disliked — 2 hours from the nearest airport.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chelsiaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steinhatchee hotels
0.8 mi away
Steinhatchee River Inn
Steinhatchee River Inn
#2 of 3 in Steinhatchee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Good Times Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Times Motel and Marina

Property: Good Times Motel and Marina
Address: 7022 SW Highway 358, Steinhatchee, FL 32359-8125
Location: United States > Florida > Steinhatchee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Steinhatchee
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Times Motel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Gulfstream Motel And Marina Hotel Steinhatchee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing