We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love It and will be back!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steinhatchee River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Steinhatchee River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Steinhatchee
Certificate of Excellence
Williston, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love It and will be back!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

My family and I stay at the Steinhatchee River Inn atleast twice a month. We have never had any problems or poor customer service the office has always been open until 9 pm. or later, I needed something at 11 pm and called and manager answered phone and responded to our need imediately!!! I am wondering if whoever wrote the negetive comment was at the right motel or even there? See ya'll next weekend for some more scalloping and a wonderful time at the STEINHATCHEE RIVER INN!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjhopp1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    9
    1
    7
See reviews for
26
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

We've been scalloping in Florida now for 9 years. Our kids are 11 and 9. Each year we stay at the Steinhatchee River Inn for many reasons. 1. The pool is big, clean and easily viewed from the room. The hours are great! 2. The hotel location is directly across from the marina we use. 3. The large, clean picnic area with grills and tables suits our big group, as 10-20 of us are there for over a week and cook out a few nights. 4. The rooms are well furnished, clean, AIR CONDITIONED and comfortable. The kitchen suites have a full-size fridge, which is necessary for freezing our scallops! 5. The people at the hotel are always available for whatever we need, be it a quick room freshen-up, more towels, advice on the town or a friendly chat by the pool.

There's much more. I would highly recommend Steinhatchee River Inn. We were truly made to feel at home this year by Madonna, Mary and all the crew. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Editmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summertraveler2009
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We arrived to find a sign on the door to come back after 5pm. We had reservations, and
were told check in was after 3pm. There was a phone number to call which nobody answered. We came back after 5, still had to wait till someone finally showed up.
Then she had the reservation screwed up. It took another hour to finally get a room.
When we went in the room was hot and everything was unplugged! We would have
gone somewhere else but had been told everywhere else was booked. We will never
go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summertraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverinn, Manager at Steinhatchee River Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear Madam or Sir:

I am writing in regard to the review sent to the trip advisor on July 21, 2009, on behalf of Steinhatchee River Inn titled "Customer No-Service".

This incident never happened at Steinhatchee River Inn. The office was open with a receptionist on duty from 8:30A.M. to 7:30 P.M. This family was not a guest at our Inn. They are obviously mistaken about the name of the business this event occured.

We would appreciate it very much if you would remove this review from the trip advisor website.

Sincerely,

Madonna Otto
Manager/Steinhatchee River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

We were in the area doing some Geocaching, (there are lots of well hidden caches in the area) and decided to stay at the River Inn. Imagine our surprise when we found that the Inn is a Waymarking destination and that they sell Geocache supplies.

The Inn is really nice and very clean, it was too cold for us to go swimming but its a nice looking pool.

We ate breakfast at Cackleberry's restaurant, just a quick walk from the Inn.

Highly recommend staying here and we will return.

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NCDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

We were in town to fish. Just us guys . We needed a place to shower , sleep , and cook if we wanted .The river haven motel was all this plus some. The prices were reasonable and the people friendly . We didn't have any problems at all. would recommend this place to my friends and I will be going back. Soon I hope.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank derfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
94 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Steinhatchee River Inn for a weekend when we were going fishing and scalloping. This Inn is great for what it is. A simple, clean, nice place to stay while you are in Steinhatchee to go fishing or enjoying the outdoors. It simply does not pretend to be anything else. But for what it is, it is very good.

Do not expect a resort or a "country inn" or bed and breakfast. If you do you will be disappointed. If on the other hand you are expecting to fish and hang out in Steinhatchee, it is perfect. Our room included a small kitchen with stove, oven and refrigerator. The kitchen also was furnished with cookware and utensils as well as a dining and sitting area. The suite had a separate bedroom. The place was very clean and a bit quaint. It reminds me of an old highway motor lodge that got a MAJOR face lift. The pool was nice and welcome after a long day of fishing and harvesting scallops.

The hotel staff was excellent with assisting in arranging charters and other help. The location is great directly across the street from a Marina and a short walk from a fine restaurant, Fiddlers. It was truly a great place to stay and the next time we go to Steinhatchee we will certainly make reservations there.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2006

We spent 3 days in Steinhatchee, but it felt like a week. The inn wasn't bad, it is just the town is so small, and in the sticks. If you don't fish or kayak you may go crazy, especially if the weather is bad. And there is nowhere to go shopping.
There are 2 seafood restaurants in town that the man at the desk recommended, and we ate at both. They were good, but they don't serve breakfast, thankfully in the lobby of the inn is fresh organic coffee and mini donuts.
The inn is trying something new that I haven't seen before, they are getting certified by the state as a green lodging. There are cards in the room suggesting to save water by reusing your towels. They also do not change the sheets every day. However every time we came back the room was tidy and any towels on the floor were replaced, and the coffee maker was cleaned and a fresh packet of coffee left.
All the rooms are nonsmoking, but people smoke outside the rooms, which is to be expected I guess. We found the room very clean and not smokey at all. Their pool was nice to look at but it was not heated. If we need to get back to the boonies, we probably will stay there again. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable after all.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — organic coffee in the lobby
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ltwopinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steinhatchee River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinhatchee River Inn

Property: Steinhatchee River Inn
Address: 1111 Riverside Dr, Steinhatchee, FL 32359
Location: United States > Florida > Steinhatchee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Steinhatchee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Steinhatchee River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steinhatchee River Inn is located across the Steinhatchee river and is well known as an ideal place for sportsmen, nature lovers, and families to experience "old Florida". Steinhatchee offers some of best year round fresh and salt water fishing in the nation. Guests anxiously await for Scalloping season each summer to collect their scallops from our healthy sea beds. The Steinhatchee River Inn features 17 beautifully furnished suites all offering a microwave, mini frig, and coffee maker - 8 suites provide a kitchen which is further equipped with a stove and oven, full size refrigerator, pots / pans,dishes and silverware for four. Seafood restaurants, kayak rentals and fishing guides nearby. Certified Green Lodging since 2007. Pet friendly rooms must be reserved directly with a hotel staff member. Please call 352-498-4049 to reserved a pet friendly room. Pet fee is $11.00 per day for each pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Steinhatchee River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steinhatchee River Hotel Steinhatchee
Steinhatchee River Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing