We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience!”
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Steinhatchee
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice experience!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here for lunch. We are not local so we depended on the ratings to find us a good place. They have a lunch menu but it only has a few items and I really wanted scallops so we ordered from the dinner menu. I had scallops and my husband had flounder. Both were grilled. It was very yummy! There was a plate full of scallops and my husband had three filets, at least, of flounder. The potato salad from the salad bar was really good also. The atmosphere and building itself leave a little to be desired and the service was just OK. The dinner menu was pricey but the portions were huge! We probably could have shared a meal and came away satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank ready_set_go6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    62
    43
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really Good Seafood!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were traveling down the coast, stopped here, my friend had been here before, loved it.
It seems to be a local's spot, which, if busy, is always a good indication, which it was. We were there for lunch, server was friendly, very prompt. My friend ordered raw oysters, a staple of that area. Unfortunately, they were totally out. They have been experiencing a tough harvest, apparently due to high salinity in the water. We split the 3-item combo plate, fried shrimp, fried flounder, and blackened scallops. The scallops were perfect, tender and spicy. The flounder is a must if you have not had it fresh, nothing like the frozen in the grocery store. We still had some to take home, very generous portions. Other cooking options are available, as well as other seafood choices. That comes with hushpuppies and the salad bar, which was very fresh, with lots of choices. The potato salad and macaroni salad were excellent!
Roy's is just what one would expect…really good food, relaxed Gulf atmosphere, beautiful view.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Personal visits 3 times”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Kept hoping this restaurant would live up to the expectations but was disappointed each time.
The seafood was good but was overpriced compared to the few other choices in Steinhatchee.
The prime rib - a very generous portion - was half fat meat and not very flavorful. I expected much better for $28.
Salad bar was average as was the service. The servers were congenial but seemed limited in their capability since "They only worked there" and had no control of the quality of the meals served.
From what I've heard and observed the current "Roy's" is not what it used to be.
The best part of the experience was the great view of the river and sunset !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Went there for an out of the way anniversary lunch. The food was great. Best prime rib sandwich ever, my husband had the grouper sandwich which he said was equally as good. The salad bar was good, and their homemade German potato salad is awesome. Everyone there was very nice, definitely worth the drive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bean50bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Roy's for Delicious Gulf Seafood”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Roy's is the local favorite for seafood. Visiting the past month, my family and I dined at Roy's three times. The sweet, juicy scallops kept calling us back. We simply loved their scallop stew, a big bowl, with a big handful of scallops. We also greatly enjoy the crispy fried mullet and oysters. They also have a small salad bar, for those enjoying that. Service is a bit slack, but just have another frosty beer and anticipate your freshly caught, freshly cooked dinner.

This week culminates their month long scallop season in Steinhatchee, Florida. Roy's is right on the Steinhatchee river, a mile from the Gulf of Mexico ... the sunsets are fabulous. Ask to dine outside on their deck, often a guitarist is whirling through his favorites. Old Florida charm abounds here in this small fishing community, they're among the kindest people I've ever met.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetLeilani53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing