We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local flavor”
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Steinhatchee
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“local flavor”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Ate here the very first time many many years ago, when we lived in Perry, Florida. Get back about once a year and always make the drive from Perry to Steinhatchee to eat at Roy's. Only negative is last two years they have had no mullet when we went to eat. Guess February is not best time for mullet. But we still enjoy it a lot. Had catfish instead. And their potato salad is famous. And our service was great thanks to Chantelle. See ya next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Branson_MissouriDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    62
    43
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The view was to die for and the service and food were excellent! We got a window seat and watched the sun set as we ate. The salad bar had a large variety of items that were very fresh and the seafood was excellent and plentiful. The service couldn't have been better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DPBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
367 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had Googled & found this place ....reviews seemed good...so headed there at 5pm.
Pros....fantastic location especially to have a sundowner,view sunset & followed by dinner.
Sat out on open deck for a short time until the noseeums got to us....back inside quickly!
The credit card machine was not working so had to leave my partner there whilst I found an ATM !
Good salad bar we ordered scallops & soft shell crab....decided on the lighter appetite versions....glad we did.....their was loads !
Negative observations are that we had to work hard to interact with the staff & everything was deep fried......there was options for broiling or grilling I believe so perhaps we should have opted for that variety as we are not fans of too much deep fried food.
Would try it again but order differently.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and great waiter!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been going to Roy's for years so we knew the food is good...but tonite was busy with large parties enjoying the holidays...so in the shuffle we sat a little longer than usual for service...but due to the keen eyes of a "great" waiter who's name is Bubba...what could have turned out to be a bad experience turned into a good nite of dining...He worked several tables and stiil did a great job of serving some good "home on the coast" seafood...Thanks Bubba for best service one could expect!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Roys somewhat disappointed us”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

In early November we stopped at Roy's restaraunt on a Sunday evening. We had been there some years earlier and had a good experience. But on this Sunday evening the service was slow, the scallops just OK for the scallop capital supposedly. The key lime pie was quite mediocre with little of the tart key lime flavor normally desired.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing