We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steakhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Steer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Western Steer
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Starke
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All you can eat buffet
marion county, florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stopped in on a Saturday, my son got ordered the sirloin meal and I got the lunch buffet, reasonably priced, good food lots of vegetables on the bar, love how they leave you a pitcher of tea on the table , we had got caught in the rain and my son was soaked and got a chill while we were eating and couldn't finish his meal so the waitress offered to box it up to go and when he got home she had put 2 cookies in there for him - sweet gesture.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mysharona65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Way Better than Golden Corral!! Nice selection of meats, vegetables!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

First of all, they hand wrap your utensils in napkins. If u order tea, they give u extra ice and leave the tea pitcher at your table. Secondly, the food is awesome. You get a wide variety of choices for meats and vegetables. Then there's the salad bar, which has everything u need to make a great salad. Lastly, u get a wonderful dessert bar that's to die for. To top it all off, the waitresses are fast, efficient, friendly. We come from Jacksonville, FL and Orange Park just to eat there. Also there's a cheap movie theatre within minutes from there. To us, it's well worth the trip!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redbaronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Salad bar, the lettuce was browning and onions were dry, brown and almost moldy. Rolls were dry and hard. Hot food was beyond greasy and not a food selection at all. Not worth the price you pay.... Especially when there is no lunch price on the weekend. Will never go back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wenjam715915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not my kind of place......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I and our three kids just ate here a couple of hours ago. Outside, the building looked like it needed to be cleaned and generally taken care of. Once we walked in, it was difficult to determine what we were supposed to do. It wasn't set up like any other restaurant we have been to before. We had to go to a counter that was over on the side to order and pay. The total for 4 buffets, 1 steak dinner and 5 drinks was an outrageous $62. We have eaten at Cracker Barrel and it didnt cost this much! Overall, the inside of the restaurant did not appear to be clean. The food was pretty much okay though. Though the buffet did not have much available. The dessert bar was pitiful. The waitress was very nice and came to the table a number of times. We will not go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 45286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
228 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great service buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a stop as we traveled through as much else was not open late. It had plenty of food still on the buffet even though they closed in a half hour so we gave it a shot. The food was so-so. The staff was great. There is a large amount of seating. I am not sure that we will eat there again. My service was great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lukay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Steer also viewed

 

Been to Western Steer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing