We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar-B-Q and Service”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Starke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Bar-B-Q and Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The best Bar-B-Q in Gainesville in my opinion. I like the sliced pork dinner.
The sides are also very good. Resonably priced for the quality and amount of food you get. Great quick service as well. Definitely recommend.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    35
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Hugely Popular, Enought Good Food to Understand Why the US has an Obesity Problem”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Cheerful, good salad bar, big portions of tasty BBQ, drop in if you are headed through.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Yeah Sonny's!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

When I travel to Florida by car I always stop at this Sonny's. It never disappoints. On the night I visited every table was full and there was a wait. Yet, I always I had everything I needed and my glass was never less than half-full. The food is consistently great, and the service is equally outstanding. Tip: Try the High Springs Chicken. I don't know what they marinade it in, but is excellent. A great dish.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyDonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starke, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Sonny's in 100 Mile Radius of Starke”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I live here in Starke and this is one of the best restaurants we have. I like Sonny's and have eaten at various ones in nearby towns. This one is by far the best. Best food, best price, best service. They revovated a year or two ago and added additional seating. They did a fantastic job. Looks great. I would recommend this restaurant above all others in town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, New York
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“It's a chain BBQ joint, but it ain't too bad”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Half way from I-95 across FL to I-75 lies Starke, FL. If you can negotiate the small parking lot (hint - park AWAY from the building & walk a few steps), it's worth a stop on your way through town. Sunday afternoon, after the church crowd & toward the end of the lunch rush, we stopped for the major meal of the day. All-you-can-eat BBQ chicken, two sides & two non-alcoholic drinks, and out the door for less than $30. The chicken was moist, although the skin was almost too touch to chew, and the sauces add to the taste (try sweet & sizzling). The slaw is not spiced; the beans are cooked just enough, and the broccoli was exquisitely cooked - no butter and just al dente.
We've only stopped at this location, so cannot speak for the others across the region. But this one is worth a re-visit (this was our 2nd stop, two years' apart).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westlakeroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing