We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny's with a smile”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #6 of 186 Restaurants in Spring Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sunny's with a smile”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This has got to be the best place for BBQ Ribs. If you haven't been to Sunny's then you haven't had BBQ Ribs....Lip smacking tongue twizzling....superb

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fotoman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    56
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food, Great Value”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped here after a visit to Weeki Wachee State Park. They were out of several items in the early afternoon (it was not busy in there) including macaroni and cheese & milk. We ordered the family feast meal which includes ribs, brisket, pork, chicken, coleslaw, beans, corn and muffins. All this for under $40. All 6 of us ate our fill and we still had leftovers. They also include beverages in the price of their meals so it was a very economical lunch. The food was pretty good, not the best BBQ we've had, but we would eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
378 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Always consistent and tasty”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great fast service and consistently decent fresh food. We've eaten here many times over the years and they've never disappointed us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelergirlfrom1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, clean facility.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant for years and have always had good service and great food. The facility has always been clean and I have never had anything but a good experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Night out with our kids.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You just can't beat SONNY'S for a great bar-b-que meal. Ribs are killer, sliced or pulled pork is outstanding and the potatoes (baked or sweet) are done perfectly. Your glass is never empty. We stop at different locations all over the state and are NEVER disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DennisA1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing