We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place for brunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Larios - CLOSED

Casa Larios
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went with a group for brunch, the pastilitos and empanadas were great! Definitely get the potatoes with your meal, best part. Most of the guys enjoyed the scrambled egg mix, #4 on the menu. Everyone also enjoyed the coffee, of course!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    7
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“it is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fun place to go in the morning (noonish if you are cuban) in South Miami for a very authentic cuban experience. Cafe con leche, pastilitos, at the walk up counter/bar. Nice outdoor seating. As far as cuban food goes its is nothing special for Miami, and has gone a bit down hill as of late. But for out of town, worth a stop by, if not just for the experience. On the weekends they have a Salsa band and its great to watch the locals tear it up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neurovictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst fritas I've had in my life, made with slices of American bread! I wouldn't even feed the meat to my dogs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I ordered 6 fritas for my family who had a craving....... Never again will I order anything nor go to Larios! They were awful, not edible at all. First red flag was they came with 2 slices of American bread! The taste of the meat was not fit for my dogs, the fries were soggy. Bad choice . Then when I called to complain the waitress Marcia had a attitude and said "that's the way they are made" And tried to justify the situation! Then I really knew I had made the wrong choice in restaurants! I'll stick to El Mago de las Fritas next time They were closed that day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindamesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Going bad real fast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Casa Larios used to be our favorite Cuban food restaurant. Chic, classic, fun, with good, reasonable priced food and good service. Over the past few month all of that has gone downhill faster than Lindsey Vonn and it makes us very sad because we were so fond of the place and the nice, hard working people that helped it become a local tradition. I am not even talking about an occasional mishap, which ANY restaurant can have. We have gone to lunch at Larios three or four times a week for years. Lately, the food comes to the tables already cold, the plantains are NEVER ripe, the rice is burnt, the beef dishes have unacceptable amounts of fat, you can smell the fish dishes from one table to another, even a grilled chicken breast fillet came with the porous, burnt skin still attached. The servers do their best, returning the dishes to the kitchen upon request, but it shouldn't have to take a customer returning something for SOMEONE, ANYBODY! to notice these things. To their defense I have to add, the desserts have not suffered the same sad fate and continue to be some of the most delicious anywhere. We decided last week to stop going to Larios for good, then we ran into some friends that used to go there all the time too. They confessed they also stop going to Larios after one of them got sick from a fish dish. My message to the ownership: ITS NOT TOO LATE, FIX THIS BEFORE IT IS!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miamiajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Cuban family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Larios is always good, has plenty of tables inside or outside on the covered patio. We live in South Miami and often take visitors here for a tasty Cuban meal; better food than other Cuban restaurants. Service is friendly, and they don't mind if you linger a while. Prices reasonable. Only drawback, sometimes the general crowd noise is too loud, happy diners with raised voices and it is hard to converse. Popular with families and large groups. Bar and live music later some evenings

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Larios also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing