We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Run Far AWAY!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Run Far AWAY!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked this hotel in a package with Expedia. I checked out the reviews and read that generally it wasn't a great hotel but was OK for one night. Not looking for anything special, it seemed like that would work. The price included free wifi (SUPER SLOW AND NOT IN THE ROOM), free airport shuttle (STOPS AT 10 PM AND OUR FLIGHT CAME IN AT MIDNIGHT), free continental breakfast (This breakfast consisted literally of coffee, cheerios, a couple (as in maybe three total) pieces of fruit.)
The kicker though was the rooms. Our linens were riddled with cigarette burns, the bathtub had pubic hair, we were given 2 towels for four people and the windows were screwed shut. Our cousins' room had mold on the walls, blood on the bedskirt and the water didn't stop running.
My first clue should have been the contract which said we would be charged for a whole night even if we only used the room for 10 minutes or less! RED FLAG!!!! ... or maybe the two prostitutes in the lobby could have been another clue. Take my advice and don't believe the hype!

Room Tip: don't have expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarpeDiemMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    86
    94
    222
See reviews for
137
119
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and I have stayed in 5 star resorts in various locations...when I travel personally I do not require much and usually go for the regular or low fair hotels so I have stayed at both ends of the spectrum.

Granted this place needs to be updated and some serious Reno money invested, but at the same time the general location is not a tourist oriented so may never "boom".

This hotel provided exactly what I paid for a clean room, clean bathroom and bed. Granted it is older so it does not have the fresh new look but if you judge it for what it is and what it costs it's well worthy of at least a 4 star.

The only reason I wouldn't give it five stars (again based on what I paid) is that I had to pay to park in their garage and the continental breakfasts was...very basic.

Other than that clean pool, clean rooms and awesomely nice staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just returned from a three day weekend in Miami. The staff at the hotel were some of the most helpful I have ever I encountered. I wanted to set up a tour for Saturday. Alexis, one of the night staff, spent over 30 minutes with me reviewing the tour options, helping select a tour and then printed out my itinerary. The next morning, the manager, Israel, walked me the 1 & 1/2 blocks to the Metro so I could take the train to catch the tour. Both staff asked how the tour was and showed genuine interest.
The best Miami Hotel is near the U of M campus and a huge hospital. There are fun places to eat near by. Having such close access to the Metro train you can get almost anywhere quickly.
This is a great and inexpensive hidden gem in South Miami.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gena47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If all you need to do is spend the night and not shower than it's okay in a pinch but the parking lot smelled like urine and felt unsafe at night. It is close to Coral Gables. I felt like Jack Nicholson was going to peep out around the corner...it was very spooky, deserted and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Miami hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It is the worst hotel in the city of Miami....rust everywhere....the non smoking rooms smell like smoke and mold....the ac was turned up to 50 degrees and it felt like it was in Alaska and it is done to mask the odor of the growing mold...don't think you will rest well because you will feel the springs and hear them all night....everything was old and you can tell the rooms are not maintained....the breakfast is corn flakes and milk, apples, orange, muffin and orange juice. There was blood on the front door of the building where we checked in...I called to have an iron put in my room since there was none and was told to come pick it up from the front desk and I asked to have to send up and got a grunt instead of a yes mam....not professional..don't be fooled by the hotels name because its the complete opposite...they should be ashamed and to add to this the parking is not free$8, its in a raggedy location...and you get charged $2 per night for a safe even if you don't use it....IF YOU HAVE COMMON SENSE DONT STAY HERE....if there are any good reviews its the hotel staff writing it because everyone around us said the same.also you can hear everything on both sides of the room and upstairs and the hallway...so if you want to sleep ..yeah right

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My night started with the hotel shuttle taking over an hour to pick me up from the airport. To checking into a disgusting room that was dirty and rust just about everywhere. The light bulbs in half of the lamps in the room were blown out. The comforter on the bed was stained. The bathroom floor was black the toilet seat had some sticky stuff on it. I called and complained they put me in another room which had rust on the ceiling and doorway of the bathroom but the bathroom was a little bit cleaner. As I'm trying to sleep I hear that the toilet keeps running and then around 11pm I hear this dripping sound the AC brakes! Water starts dripping from the ceiling. Again, I call the front desk and complain and again they said the can move to another room. By this time I had it and it was late I had to get up at 5:30am I didn't want to move again. I also didn't care for the location of the hotel. It didn't feel safe to go out after dark. If you can afford to spend a few extra bucks stay at another hotel. Thank god I was only staying for one night!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RA1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Miami
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn South at the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Miami International Airport
7.1 mi away
Clarion Inn  & Suites Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables

Property: Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables
Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599 (Formerly Best Miami Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing