We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“TERRIBLE...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599 (Formerly Best Miami Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Don't even think about staying here. Bed was Horrible, mattress should have been thrown away. they didn't clean my room the first day. then they didn't have towels when asked for them. When I first walked into the room it felt like 50 degrees, went to turn on heat.. HA LOL They didn't have heat. yes, NO Heat.. Guy at the front desk told me "next time stay at another hotel" Breakfast was a joke, don't bother.. The floors were a fake wood, cold. I can go on, Just Find something different. U were Warned..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    84
    94
    220
See reviews for
134
118
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Rude front desk peolpe.
Advertised features in some webbsites like hotel.com that when asked about in the hotel they confirm to you that it was a lie and nobody would do anything about to fix it.
The rooms are dirty, with balls of dust in every corner.
Breakfast is a joke: they serve coffee, milk and bagles. And thats it!
When asked for directions at the nearest police station the policewoman that helped me asked where I was staying and I told her that I was at this hotel, she told me to get all the important things that I had and take it with me and leave nothing on the bedroom!
The day after that I found my room door opened when getting back to the hotel after a day away, nothing was stolen, but that is probably because I was carrying with me every valuable thing that I had.

This was my first and last time in this hotel, and I would not recomend it even for the people I hate!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vperdigao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamorada Fl
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location is great & that's the ONLY compliment I can pay to this establishment. Location is convenient to U of M & Baptist Hospital. We asked to check in at 2 something, seeking a rest for a child who was undergoing extensive medical testing. We were abruptly told check in was 3:00 & they couldn't possibly make an exception. We returned about 5;30 to complete chaos at the front desk, A single employee, phone ringing off the hook, and a line of waiting guests. Our room was pitiful, the couch completely missing from the room! Coffee table which on the net is pictured in front of the sofa was pushed against the wall.This was a "king suite". There was NO bathtub stopper or tissues in the bath room. Chipped tub, peeling wall paper, One towel, one wash cloth. We were a party of 3! Called the front desk to ask where the couch was & to ask for towels, washcloths & pillows. We were placed on hold where I remained for more then 20 minutes. No one ever picked up. Breakfast was disgusting & shouldn't be advertised at all. My 9 year old described them as the waxy, gross kind of fruit loops. There is NO info or services list of any kind in the room. TV channels, ice machine location, guest services, fire escape plan...nothing. Pool had the potential to be a nice area. Tiki bar however is CLOSED, pool chairs are in a sad state, no ashtrays (yet smoking was permitted there) NO towels, bring the ONE & only from your room. Bed was completely worn, pick a side, either side, you know the kind you roll right off of! Completely visible to the person who makes the bed daily. 205 needs a new mattress! On check out the following morning the rude man which I assume was the manager (no names or tags) was asked in English for an early check in. He was abruptly told "NO" just as we were the previous day. Then the man re-addressed the front desk person in Spanish. Miraculously, they exchanged pleasantries & he received his room 4 1/2 hours before 3pm check-in! Too bad manager didn't realize, Yo comprende todo! With a few easy fixes and a new staff it could be very decent. The only bright spot was the poor lovely young girl who was left alone in the evening. She was courteous & did her best as she was inundated with a hotel full of guests & little help or room necessities She should go elsewhere where her skills are not wasted in vain! My advice STAY ELSEWHERE!

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronz1inthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orosei
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Despite the name, this hotel is as far as best as it can be. Rooms are ok if you want just a place to sleep, but nothing else. The rooms have a safe that sometimes doesn't work and you have to ask the staff for repair. The staff is nice and helpful but the place it's not a big deal. They have a car to come and get you from the airport but last time the car was broken and we had to take a cab. Breakfast is horrible. Wi-fi works only in the hall. In the bright side, location is very good (you can find many restaurants and shops close enough) and is very cheap. Go there only if you don't expect any luxury and if you want a cheap choice. Otherwise, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friedman0784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

our 2 laptops and a tablet was stolen from this hotel. The hotel staff was completely uncooperative. The cops told that the hotel staff is involved in it since they have got many such cases from this hotel. They charge 10 dollar for parking in their so called gated parking garage - but they have no camera there or in the lobby. All they tell this is you should use the safe given in the room (for which u pay an extra 2 dollar) which is a tiny piece of crap which doesn't even work. The cop even told us that we should inform priceline to black list this hotel.Its a horrible hotel!!!
stay away

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked as it seemed it was a good quality/price ratio and conveniently located close to main attractions. The hotel was a disaster : rooms were not clean, breakfast was horrible, no customer service of any sort. Don't go unless you ONLY desire is to save money on your hotel spending.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Please do not bother, if you are on a budget try to stay somewhere else than here. This place reeks of mold, and my headboard had hard spots on them. You can only imagine. The breakfast was toast and powered tang mixed in water. I stayed here twice hoping the second time would be better. I was wrong.. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, and the parking fee and hotel fee is a joke.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovelife2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miami Marriott Dadeland
#51 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables

Property: Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables
Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599 (Formerly Best Miami Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing