We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Seafood In The Area, And Beyond”
Review of Captain's Tavern

Captain's Tavern
Ranked #4 of 87 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami
Level Contributor
400 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Best Seafood In The Area, And Beyond”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Been coming here for over 30 years for a reason, they are consistently good. The decor is the same as it was in the 80's so don't look around too closely. The fish tanks are fun for the kids but it's the food that makes me rate it five stars. Try the cedar plank salmon with sundried tomato aioli. Oh my! We also love their different sauces to top the fish, especially the 'Yum Yum' sauce, with lemongrass and scallions. Their creamy garlic dressing is the bomb. Use breath mints and don't worry about it, it's so good. This is a nice date place. And their bar is fun - always packed at dinner. Kid's menu is fantastic and reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank southmiamijill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    76
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant in South Miami (Pinecrest)”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very fresh and tasty seafood on US1 in Pinecrest. This is our favorite local joint for excellent food and casual dining. We take a lot of out-of-town guests to Captain's Tavern, and they always seem to enjoy the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7663JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ready to molt”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good evening,
We went to Captain's Tavern for dinner tonight. I expected to pay up for a nice dinner and expect to pay for good food.
We ordered two of the "two for one" lobster dinners. What we received were what we locals call "floaters"
The shells were soft and lacked lobster meat. Almost like they were ready to molt. We didn't need the crab crackers that were supplied.
With the half bottle of wine and tip, I spent $96.00 on a marginal experience.
You got me once, I'm not sure there will be a second!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Huge menu of always fresh fish”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best lobster bisque in town as well as the best conch fritters. All the fish is fresh; they run a seafood market next door. Even land-lubbers have several great choices as the both the macadamia chicken breast and the steaks are excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanesMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Icon in miami”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It seems that time does not go by in this establishment. Same design, same carpet, same menu as ever. The food and the presentation is standard, the service was subpar, and the ambience, well, the 50's. Going to this place once every five years is a good way of remembering the past. My wife likes to buy their fresh seafood and cook it at home, so do I

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing