We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Tavern

Captain's Tavern
9625 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33156
(305) 666-5979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value for Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant was terrific the food, the service and the drinks were great. In all I can only sum up the experience as excellent and highly reecommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coleentm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
156 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ahoy Captain!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The side salad was very good, crisp and the tomatoes was the best I have has in years!! They do not use "hot house" tomatoes but field grown jewels that burst with taste!!

The Oyster plate was divine, very lightly breaded that was not heavy at all. In fact it was almost like the texture of a tempura batter - yummy!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyTop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We Loved it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had 6 couples in Miami attending the Boat Show and Coconut Grove Art Fair, so it was a very busy high season weekend. Bella, the hostess, did her best and we were seated within 15 minutes.(We had clled ahead a few days to let her know we were coming.) Our server was great and handled the large group with ease. We had the whole Maine Lobster and it was terrific. We also tried several appetizers- Conch Fritters, Oysters on the Half Shell and they too, were delicious. It was a lively place and we all enjoyed the entire evening. It was the classic old decor, but clean and quaint. We will return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellover060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This restaurant always had a waiting line. The food is excellent and therefore I keep going back. Waiting lines or not.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad Food/Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were in Miami for two weeks. On our last night we chose the Captain's Tavern. The hostess showed us to a table and threw the menus in the middle of the table and left. We sat for over 20 minutes without anyone stopping by. Finally a waiter showed up and asked what we wanted. No drink request; no discussion; no welcome. We had to ask about the specials.

We both order the Grouper which was supposedly the freshest. My wife had hers grilled and at the waiter's suggestion I had mine served with a mushroom and wine sauce. I also ordered conch fritters and my wife some sushi as an appetizer. The sauce on my fish arrived only luke warm and did not do anything for the fish. My wife made the better choice.

Two hours later my stomach was hurting and after another hour or so, I was vomiting. I had no other signs of flu. I had scrambled eggs for lunch and only a banana and protein bar for lunch since we were playing golf. It had to be either the conch or the sauce on the fish since those were the only thing I had that my wife didn't. I am told that I should report to the Health Department which I guess I should do.

I cannot recommend this place in anyway. It was dingy and not too clean. This is the worst review I have ever given any restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dogmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing