We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petite, but nice little vibe to it.”
Review of Cafe Pastis

Cafe Pastis
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Petite, but nice little vibe to it.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

An energetic and happy staff work hard and produce a good product for the customers to enjoy in some what cramped conditions.

My lunch and dinner experiences have all been good.

I am from England and I realized that the staff were a fun and eclectic group - some from France and others from South America. We are in the year 2013 and who cares where the staff are from apart from some pig headed pretentious customers that demand that everyone working in THEIR French Restaurant have the requisite French accents.

The menu is compact, but with food for all.

Well done Pastis you do a great job and I expect you to sit on my favorites list for a long time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Small, Local, French and Great Food!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a great little restaurant. It is located in a small community strip mall, has outdoor seating as well as indoor, and is your quintessential cafe. Largely frequented by locals, always full for both lunch and dinner.

The food is always very good, service is great. The owner is French, a pleasant fellow that is there, and personally over sees the restaurant.

The menu is limited, as far as not a million different things, which in my view guarantees that what they cook, they know, and do a great job at it.

Great traditional French cooking with a definitive home made style. Reminds me of the small french village cafes, that are a treat to eat in, and always serve up good local fare.

Last time there I had the French Onion soup to start with, an oldie but goodie. We were a group of 4 and everybody loved their food.

Very accessible prices, with sophisticated french fare..

Enjoy it...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2lifeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fake French Staff has awful attitude”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Cramped and narrow uncomfortable hole in the wall
Poorly trained staff
Pretends to be French
I am French so I know a fake accent when I hear one
Staff could not respond to menu questions in French or English
Slow service
No atmosphere
Better good a chocolate fashion

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagamore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always delicious sandwiches!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lunch was a treat! Our waitress was super friendly and helpful. Our sandwiches were wonderful. I had the portobello with cheese on a baguette which was very flavorful, accompanied by a fresh green salad. My companion had the snapper sandwich which was very tasty and onion soup which was wonderful. There are many other very appealing menu items that will need to be tried in the future..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diners4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Authentic French cuisine”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food is exquisite, very French. Friendly service. Wine list is superb.
The lamb was excellent. The grouper and chicken with couscous were delicious. Large selection of desserts. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pastis also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Cafe Pastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing