We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible lunch!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Maki

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Maki
5812 Sunset Dr, South Miami, FL 33143-5220
13056677677
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 74 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spreading the joy of what great sushi should be: delicious, responsibly sourced ingredients, creative and tasty combinations and an experience you want to have again and again.
South Miami
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible lunch!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I had lunch there with a friend during the weekday; I ordered the red curry chicken in the Bento from the lunch menu. My friend ordered a sushi roll.His food looked good and delicious, but by the time he finished his dish, my food finally came but it was a huge dissapointment because it wasn't edible. The curry sauce was extremely watery, the tiny tiny pieces of chicken were not appealing and the whole dish looked unappetizing for me to eat. Such a shame that a restaurant as such gets great reviews! There are plenty of good Asian restaurants for me to return there, not worth the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank remoise51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
285 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good sushi and sashimi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Very good quality sushi an sashimi at very affordable prices. Plain surroundings, but pleasant with very good service. Plenty of parking available. Good quality saki.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moniaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
560 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Once again, Sushi Maki hits a bulls-eye! We had a Saturday night out with friends, and could not have had a finer experience. The service was excellent - friendly, efficient, great suggestions. As for the setting, lots of good "energy" to be enjoyed as we were perched at our high-top table (my favorite table). The sushi hit the spot. We had aps, which consisted of several items, including ... THIS IS A TIP ... the sushi taco. There were two versions of this, and the one I tried was the tuna - amazing! We got our usual "double boat", and were most content with the quality & variety.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pineapples-a-Plenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As we walked along, we weren't certain what we wanted to eat. But, when passing and looking at the different sushi dishes people were enjoying on the outdoor patio - we couldn't resist! Very fresh. Service could have been faster - but it was very busy. We would return at our next visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Thai - Great prices - Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Connie was a nice, polite, efficient waitress. No wait for a table.

I got the Thai Red Curry Chicken. I thought it was excellent! (I have eaten some really good Thai elsewhere, i.e., Tampa, and this was among the best.) It was twice the amount I was able to eat (for $12.95). It was so good that I nearly was unable to stop eating, though.

Saw what's written below about their sushi. I will try it for myself and see how it goes.

All in all, a great experience. Highly recommend for their Thai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Maki also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Maki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing