We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our sushi was drowned in sauce and missing pieces”
Review of Sushi Maki

Sushi Maki
Ranked #24 of 88 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Spreading the joy of what great sushi should be: delicious, responsibly sourced ingredients, creative and tasty combinations and an experience you want to have again and again.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our sushi was drowned in sauce and missing pieces”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I are looking for a sushi place to call home. Sadly this is not it. The service was average but I was disappointed by the food.
I ordered the "crunch" roll. It was FIVE pieces. This is a portion size for someone that has already had a feast, not a meal in itself. I have been to dozens of sushi places and this was by far the smallest serving. The pieces notwithstanding were enjoyable, but I found the volcano roll sauce made it MUCH better. (Keep reading)

My boyfriend ordered the volcano roll. He got 8 pieces, but the roll was covered in at least 3 oz of the mayo-based sauce. He spent a solid five minutes moving globs of mayo off of the roll so that the roll was visible to the naked eye. Any flavor of the roll was overpowered by the sauce, so it basically tasted like rice textured mayo.

It was a $40 meal for two rolls and unsweet tea. Sorry Sushi Maki, you are not the place for me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msmit549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    5
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sushi”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Casual sushi establishment with various locations in South Florida. Generally no wait for a table at lunch or dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank udflyer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I didn't like the place very much. The sashimi was too tick for my taste. The menu has variety, but nothing special or much different, that are things that I like when I go to a Japanese restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our "go to" sushi restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

You can't go wrong here! We have eaten here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. You can't go wrong with the value of their lunch bento box! Tons of variety & always good. For a limited time they have a "white hot Heat" roll that I highly recommend. It's not too spicy, just right!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bcd1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great for newbies!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was expecting a normal sushi restaurant, but instead got a very cool take on sushi. If you have any sushi virgin friends that refuse to eat raw fish, this is the place to take them. There are so many different types of rolls that I've never seen before, all sounded delicious. In the end I went with Godzilla Gone Wild (spicy tune, crab, eel, shrimp tempura, green tea soba noodles, spicy eel sauce).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Maki also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Maki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing