We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive hot food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imlee Indian Bistro

Imlee Indian Bistro
Ranked #50 of 81 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SW 128th Street and South Dixie Highway
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive hot food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was expensive for what we got and the food was only hot. The ladies bathroom was filthy. This is not conductive to feel comfortable with the food you are eating. How clean is the kitchen? The server was pushy for the most expensive dishes. I will not go there again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    22
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food in Miami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This restaurant is on a strip mall, very easy to miss but when you enter the place was very cozy. The food was excellent . The lamb appetizer, delicious . The only complaint that we had was that the waiter was pushing for the most expensive items on the menu and when the food was brought to the table of 5 didn't specify which plate belongs to who? A little disappointed, but overall the food was great.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Had higher expectations!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I visited this restaurant for lunch last sunday. We ordered the lunch "buffet", which is really not a buffet in the sense that you don't get to get up and serve yourself, rather they mention what is included and bring it over course by course starting with a tomatoe soup, which was just Ok.
This was followed by three small appetizers, two of which I really did not care much for as they were greasy and tasteless and one which had onions which was fine. The main course was comprised of four different dishes accompanied by basmati rice and they did not impress me. The lamb dish was undercooked so the lamb was very tough. The lentil dish had a few lentils floating in it and the other two dishes, one with chicken, were really not memorable. When asked if the food in the buffet was mild, we were told yes, however it was still a little spicy (hot) for my taste. I ended up thinking perhaps we reached the restaurant a little late, they serve lunch till three and we got there at two thirty and perhaps this is reason the food was not that good. I will give this restaurant another chance, the best item in the whole meal was the indian bread, which was delicious.
But all in all, I was not impressed, but rather let down.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martycaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
496 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Based on the waiter's suggestion, we had the table side buffet for $17. Per person. Crackers with three sauces were served. Then we had lentil soup. Next came fried appetizers of a lentil patty, spinach, and potato. Entrees arrived in soup bowl size portions for two to share--tandoori chicken, goa shrimp, potatoes, cheese, vegetables , and flat bread. Everything was in a curry type sauce except for the chicken. We were allowed to order seconds and did of the shrimp (the best entree). Dessert was a fried doughnut hole with almond sauce. To be a fan of this type of cuisine, you must enjoy deep fried food and curry sauce. A trip to the restroom was a real turn off--dirty, no soap, and no towels in the dispenser.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acielesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very cozy and wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a very small restaurant set back in a strip mall near The Fall in Miami. The restaurant is lowly lit and the atmosphere is cozy... perfect for a romantic dinner, but I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a delicious and authentic Indian meal. My husband is British and considers himself an Indian food connoisseur and he loves the food here. Make a reservation, particularly on the weekends in order to ensure you will get a table. I believe there is some outside seating, but bear in mind the restaurant is in a strip mall which is largely deserted in the evening so the view isn't spectacular. The service can be slow, particularly when they are busy, but the staff are attentive. They do offer take-out, but I've been told that the take-out is not as good as the sit down meal (when is it ever?). One of our favorite restaurants.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imlee Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing