We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delicious Neighborhood Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akashi Japanese Restaurant

Akashi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 81 Restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Neighborhood Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a family run spot, where you get great food in a cool environment. You could very easily be in New York City with the sexy decor and excellent food quality. Try the Alex #2 and the Tuna Tartare. You will thank me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best, Freshest Sushi in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am a big fan of Akashi. The place is small and intimate and it's always busy so you know the food is fresh. From very simple rolls to much more elaborate platters, this sushi experience is the best in Dade County.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2thdr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sushi is awsome...very fresh and tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love their sushi, one of the best places for sushi!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AEMTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy, Authentic Sushi Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The intimate, cafe-like atmosphere of Akashi is perfect for a date. If you sit at the bar, you'll enjoy an up-close view of the impressive saltwater reef aquarium visible throughout the restaurant. Service was friendly and quick, the menu was not too big but not too small, and I found exactly what I wanted. For a small, late dinner I had an order of warm, crispy and silky age tofu, a crunchy grilled-tasting salmon skin handroll an order of hamachi, and a small bottle of warm sake. Perfect. Let's face it, if you just want to eat sushi, you can get a decent roll and a bag of frozen edamame from your local grocery store these days. If you're looking for a high quality, fun, Japanese restaurant experience that is contemporary yet traditional, Akashi is it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greendoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love going there. It's small but really fresh And delicious. I usually do takeout

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alefandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akashi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akashi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing