We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best, Freshest Sushi in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akashi Japanese Restaurant

Akashi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 74 Restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best, Freshest Sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am a big fan of Akashi. The place is small and intimate and it's always busy so you know the food is fresh. From very simple rolls to much more elaborate platters, this sushi experience is the best in Dade County.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2thdr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sushi is awsome...very fresh and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love their sushi, one of the best places for sushi!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AEMTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy, Authentic Sushi Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The intimate, cafe-like atmosphere of Akashi is perfect for a date. If you sit at the bar, you'll enjoy an up-close view of the impressive saltwater reef aquarium visible throughout the restaurant. Service was friendly and quick, the menu was not too big but not too small, and I found exactly what I wanted. For a small, late dinner I had an order of warm, crispy and silky age tofu, a crunchy grilled-tasting salmon skin handroll an order of hamachi, and a small bottle of warm sake. Perfect. Let's face it, if you just want to eat sushi, you can get a decent roll and a bag of frozen edamame from your local grocery store these days. If you're looking for a high quality, fun, Japanese restaurant experience that is contemporary yet traditional, Akashi is it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greendoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love going there. It's small but really fresh And delicious. I usually do takeout

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alefandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

nice greeters and the sushi was good. a little too dark inside

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank iwantmymoneyback1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akashi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akashi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing