We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, Authentic Sushi Experience.”

Akashi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 88 Restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy, Authentic Sushi Experience.”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The intimate, cafe-like atmosphere of Akashi is perfect for a date. If you sit at the bar, you'll enjoy an up-close view of the impressive saltwater reef aquarium visible throughout the restaurant. Service was friendly and quick, the menu was not too big but not too small, and I found exactly what I wanted. For a small, late dinner I had an order of warm, crispy and silky age tofu, a crunchy grilled-tasting salmon skin handroll an order of hamachi, and a small bottle of warm sake. Perfect. Let's face it, if you just want to eat sushi, you can get a decent roll and a bag of frozen edamame from your local grocery store these days. If you're looking for a high quality, fun, Japanese restaurant experience that is contemporary yet traditional, Akashi is it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greendoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love going there. It's small but really fresh And delicious. I usually do takeout

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alefandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good sushi”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

nice greeters and the sushi was good. a little too dark inside

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank iwantmymoneyback1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“ONE OF MY FAVORITE RESTAURANTS!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The restaurant is located right on the corner of U.S. 1 & S.W. 71st ST. There is metered parking diagonally across the restaurant or you can park at the Sunset mall parking garage at the end of the street. The restaurant is very quaint. It gets crowded very easily, especially during the weekend, but the wait is worth it. They do take reservations.

Looking at the place from outside you wouldn't think anything of it, but once inside, it feels like you're eating at a sushi restaurant in Japan. The interior is dark with bamboo glass panels along one wall, there's a large fish tank behind the sushi bar it's light illuminating the back area & small tables lined along each wall & down the center. You really can't hear the traffic coming from U.S. 1. The only noise you will get will be from your fellow "foodies".

The food is amazing. I've had many dishes here & I have no complaints. I recommend the Dragon roll, Alex #2 roll, Volcano (spicy), Kani-su, or the pan fried tilapia. The sushi is very fresh and tasty. I think the only downside you may experience is with the servers. I guess because the place is so small & gets quite busy they are always in a rush & not as attentive as other places. They are not mean nor do they rush you and when I've asked for their opinion they give it but do keep in mind they will be darting back & forth. Either way, I always go back for the amazing food! Hope you have a good experience as I've always had.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MERZ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was a great mistake”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We walk in looking for Raw another Sushi place around the area but when we talk in it was nice an quit and we were happily greeted at the door and I look at my girl friend ans said what the hell lets go in. Amazing service all smiles and the sushi was nice and fresh. I love it there felt like we were not in Miami any more.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamerOfNights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akashi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akashi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing