We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loud and Marginal Food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of George's

George's
Ranked #10 of 81 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, French, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loud and Marginal Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a party for 12 in the back room. Many ordered the tuna tartare which was warm, like it had been sitting out for hours. We also ordered mussels which were the size of my finger nail and had no taste. The French fries were dripping in oil and soggy. On top of all of this, it was a birthday and all of the gifts were left on the floor by mistake. When we returned home and called later, we were shocked that they said they found no shopping bags. Way to ruin a teenagers birthday! We got the French attitude from the arrogant bald manager "are you accusing me of stealing your presents?" Great service! Not.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special to mention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just okay... The ambiance is nice... The food not worth going... Service is spotty.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank alnabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“MIA in MIA part 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

George's is amazing. He has gimmicks, great food, fun atmosphere and awesome birthday celebration think going on. You're going to pay for the experience, but it's well worth it. My only caution that they have a limited beer selection, other than that, it's great!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank psharpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Quaint place for a night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

They start you off with a glass of champagne and then we moved on to the ceviche that was amazing. He had the short rib and I had the mushroom risotto with foie gras. They were both delicious. My hubby didn't care for the risotto but really enjoyed the short ribs. Had the creme brûlée but the sugar on top was burnt. The custard was delicious. You can sit outside on big comfy chairs. Watch out for birthdays, they play music at 100 decibels while they sing happy birthday. We arranged for a business dinner the following week and the service and professionalism was impeccable. Our clients loved it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramblingwelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
238 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fun French restaurant in Coconut Grove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We sat outside and had a great time with friends. The service is amazing. The menu had lots of choices and catered to all our needs. The bread was fresh and they kept bringing it. The appetizers were easy and we ordered a few. I had the Duck Confit and that was the best Ive had. My wife and my friends wife had the truffle pasta and they loved it. My friend had the Peppercorn Tuna and loved it. The best review was from my 10 yr old daughter who enjoyed her Penne Pasta dish. The atmosphere is amazing. If you are there on your birthday they have a cool celebration. Enjoy

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arv212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
South Miami, FL
 

Been to George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing