We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try the fried chicken”
Review of Whisk

Whisk
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunset Drive & 74th Street
Description: Whisk Gourmet provides homestyle food using fresh, local, and organic ingredients. Come try Chef Brendan"s contemporary American cuisine with Lo'Country influence. We welcome reservations for parties of 6 or more only. All other guests will be seated on a first come first serve basis.
Castro Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“try the fried chicken”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Their fried chicken with smashed potatoes and green beans was excellent. The chicken was crispy and delicious. The smashed potatoes with bacon bits and green onions were creamy. The green beans were served with a honey sauce that was so yummy. Their fried green tomatoes were also good. My picky daughter loved their smashed potatoes, too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nocciolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    99
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is NOT what I asked for”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

There were 3 of us for lunch on a Monday and the restaurant was not busy.My husband asked for some bread to eat while we waited for our entrees, but that never did come out. I asked for a filet mignon with only salt and pepper on it--but it came out with a brown sauce and I had to send it back. The sliders my husband ordered were just OK. My brother's order came out fine and he was able to take half of it home for dinner. So, try the brussel sprouts with cheese!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I like it”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We saw this on Triple D and wanted to give it a try. Had the Turkey, Apple, Bacon Sndwh (does not come w/ anything on side-I ended up eating chips the other person didn't want), Whole Fried Snapper, chicken fingers and fries. Had to send back chicken fingers (didn't taste good) and order a grilled cheese. I liked my food. No one else liked their food except when we switched out chkn fngrs for grilled cheese. Win some - lose some. Our server was excellent, friendly and polite. Parking IS HORRIBLE! Pack your patience and just park where it is legal and not too far for you to walk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprising combinations”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The brother-sister team running this cozy spot have devised a bushel of ways to tempt the adventurous diner, often updating old Southern recipes. Whisk is on a side street off South Miami's downtown core, and discerning locals line up for a table at lunch and dinnertime. I liked the high tables next to the kitchen, where I could see the chefs at work and ogle the treats passed through the window for other tables.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belem, PA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Kind of a restaurant that you would't go if you are just visiting Miami for tourism. But, for the locals, its almost impossible to get a table or a reservation. Excellent menu and beer selection. All of the appetizers are highly recommended!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PietroMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisk also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
 
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Whisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing