We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Cod and Octopus in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lisbon - Sunset

Old Lisbon - Sunset
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lisbon - Sunset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Cod and Octopus in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth time at this restaurant. If you want to try traditional Portuguese food this is the place to go. We started with the grilled Sardines, perfectly cooked and not over seasoned, meaty you would think that they are not from here..Sopa Verde, a clear broth consisting of chorizo and Collard Greens, excellent and of course, the Bacalao Gomes de
SA, traditional, homy and comforting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leicaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a large business dinner here, taking up probably half the restaurant. We had a limited menu for a set price, but everyone was satisfied with the choices and they easily accommodated special dietary requests. All the food was excellent and the service was attentive and friendly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeneDoc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recalling how much we enjoyed the food the last time we traveled to Portugal, we have been wanting to try out Old Lisbon for quite some time. With the "Miami Spice" in full swing, we thought this is as good a time as any. We were there for lunch and we were ordering from the "Miami Spice" menu which usually has three items for each of the categories: Appetizers, Entrees, and Desserts. No sardine dish was available (even in the regular menu from which we ordered one dish) and only one dessert was available from the "Miami Spice" menu (although the menu on the "Miami Spice" site has three). No substitutions for the missing items were offered. We were quite disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KamalP33156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
283 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“It is real Portuguese food in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is a surprise among "ethnic restaurants" in the USA. The food is like we got in Portugal , it has not been Americanized. The cod, sardines, pork at the Alentejo style (with clams) are as good as in the home country. The service is actually better here than at many touristic places in Portugal. The setting is Portuguese themed without been overpowering quaint and the clientele counts with many who were, apparently, repeats. The wine selection is good and in keeping with the menu heritage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martinezcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Portuguese Fare in South Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On a recent trip to visit family in Miami I chose this restaurant out more because of a desire for Portuguese food than knowing anything about the restaurant. The appetizers were plentiful for five adults and everyone in my party was extremely satisfied with their main courses. The chouriço assado and Espetada Mista à Portuguesa were flavourful and the Vitela Assada fell right off the bone. I'd definitely go here again on my next trip to Miami.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aflopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lisbon - Sunset also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Old Lisbon - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing