We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It is real Portuguese food in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lisbon - Sunset

Old Lisbon - Sunset
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lisbon - Sunset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
283 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“It is real Portuguese food in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is a surprise among "ethnic restaurants" in the USA. The food is like we got in Portugal , it has not been Americanized. The cod, sardines, pork at the Alentejo style (with clams) are as good as in the home country. The service is actually better here than at many touristic places in Portugal. The setting is Portuguese themed without been overpowering quaint and the clientele counts with many who were, apparently, repeats. The wine selection is good and in keeping with the menu heritage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martinezcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Portuguese Fare in South Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On a recent trip to visit family in Miami I chose this restaurant out more because of a desire for Portuguese food than knowing anything about the restaurant. The appetizers were plentiful for five adults and everyone in my party was extremely satisfied with their main courses. The chouriço assado and Espetada Mista à Portuguesa were flavourful and the Vitela Assada fell right off the bone. I'd definitely go here again on my next trip to Miami.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aflopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A piece of Lisbon in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like Seafood, Old Lisbon continues to provide great quality. They do many things right, but they have mastered the Cod fish!
The Cod fish, in any of their offerings, is the Best in Miami, period!

We try mixing it up, but always order the Cod Croquettes, Un-believably good! The Paella is also very good, made while you wait and served steaming Hot!
Last week we ordered the grilled Seafood platter and it was fantastic, with generous portions of Scallops, Fish and Lobster.
We keep going back and the food and hospitality only get better; The owner is always around and has a great staff; Sandra is a WONDERFULL server and always makes us feel welcomed.
Old Lisbon has stayed around for so long because they keep things simple and the quality of the food is top notch. I highly recommend a visit to Old Lisbon when in Miami.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIANJIN, CHINA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best international Portuguese restaurants ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have been there three times. The menu is extensive and the food is just like eating in Portugal. Service is fast and friendly. The atmosphere is great as well as location. I recommend you book a table otherwise it may be difficult. The only thing I would like to point out is that the three times I went there I was looking forward to eat a few "pasteis de nata" and they had run out. Not good as this is the best dessert ever....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TMVMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Old Lisbon is one of the best restaurants in Miami!! The food is so delicious and the service is also great.. Is a must go place if you like to eat portuguese food and even if you don't like fish, they have other awesome options.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinaA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lisbon - Sunset also viewed

 

Been to Old Lisbon - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing