We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracked by Chef Adrianne - good (but not great)”

Cracked by Chef Adrianne
Ranked #68 of 104 Restaurants in South Miami
Description: Cracked by Chef Adrianne is an American Restaurant located off of South West 57th Street in South Miami, Florida. The menu features tons of flavor with free range organic ingredients and features many vegan friendly options. At Cracked you'll receive the best service and experience some of the best food South Miami has to offer! Enjoy a savory hangar steak or crispy pork belly sliders for lunch and dive into Belgian Waffles or Huevos Rancheros for Brunch.
Restaurant details
Description: Cracked by Chef Adrianne is an American Restaurant located off of South West 57th Street in South Miami, Florida. The menu features tons of flavor with free range organic ingredients and features many vegan friendly options. At Cracked you'll receive the best service and experience some of the best food South Miami has to offer! Enjoy a savory hangar steak or crispy pork belly sliders for lunch and dive into Belgian Waffles or Huevos Rancheros for Brunch.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located slightly off-the-beaten-path (2 blocks South of Sunset Drive & 1 block West of Red Road) in South Miami is Chef Adrianne's mid-range/upscale bar food restaurant: Cracked. It aims high, but there's some definite "hits" and "misses" here.
The Setting is lovely (the prior space of S. Miami No Name Chinese)
The Service is friendly and very good
The Drink selection of wines-by-the-glass and beers-on-tap is excellent
The Food selection is interesting and creative, and while avoiding the cardinal sin
of being "under-seasoned", these foods actually seem to suffer from compensatory "over-seasoning". To point:
Filet Mignon Sandwich - excellent fresh brioche bun, delicious chunks of seared steak,
sauteed onions, and plenty of melted provolone -- what could have been a killer take on
a Philly Cheese Steak was OVER-powered by heavily garlicky "Cracked" sauce -- one could taste little or nothing of the steak, onions, nor cheese in this sandwich
Truffle Parmesan Parsley French Fries - (1) the "warm" (NOT hot & crisp) fries were clearly not made-to-order, but rather were portioned from a huge pre-made batch, and
(2) OVER-powered by heavy use of Parmesan, parsley etc -- a fresh, piping hot, made to order, crisp basket of fries would be much preferred (and expected in a mid-range
very nice restaurant where the price point (food, drink, tax, tip) is $45 for 1 beer, 1 sandwich, and fries).
Cracked has many "positives" but seems to be falling short of its' potential. With continued improvements, this could be another fine addition to the South Miami dining scene.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank byMT305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2019 via mobile

South Miami rent is expensive and it’s residents are not very forgiving. We ordered 3 appetizers. The corn dish, the tuna tare tare and the fried cheese. The corn dish was very good. The tuna tare tare was ok and the fried cheese was served cold. Fried cheese should cut gooey making you have to twirl some of it onto your fork. Not in this case. Hard and cold. We ordered the chicken and unfortunately had to send it back. I have to say I’ve never had worse chicken served to me anywhere. Meat that should fall off the bone was extremely hard to cut and the flavor was awful. I felt embarrassed for our server who was very very good.
I sincerely hope this was a fluke.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Delatorrellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019 via mobile

Great food, the place is a small location so seating may be an issue if it is a busy night. But the food we all tried was great quality. From the chicken sandwich to the pepperoni fries was a hit. The prices for the drinks is a bit above average $9 for a beer and $12-15 for the cheapest wine glass and $15 for sign drinks. Overall great experience for the food quality for drinks and sharing

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Chunkee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019

Below average service, loud, uncomfortable chairs and mediocre food made this a poor experience. Ordered the filet mignon sandwich, which could not be cooked to order to your preference so, not surprisingly, it was overcooked. Also tried the fried gouda with raspberry reduction, which was ok at best. Hard to belie Chef Adrienne would lend her name to this. In life, all you have is your name and reputation and she has sacrified hers.

This place will close next year and will not be missed.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2019

We discovered this restaurant by accident, as we were looking for parking in South Miami. The menu looked interesting so we came in. Plus, we've eaten at Chef Adrianne's other restaurant and know the food to be delicious.

We weren't disappointed. The server was very friendly and gave us suggestions, which were spot on. I was surprised at the remarks by other reviewers...our service was excellent, the food arrived without a huge delay (about 10 minutes), drinks were quick, plus we love the 70's music that was playing in the dining room.

Food...no issues here either. Roasted cauliflower (and I don't like this vegetable) was delicious. The Burrata is a must. But the filet mignon burger is a "can't miss" if you are a meat lover. My husband is very particular about steaks and he really enjoyed it.

Maybe it was growing pains that the other reviewers encountered, since I learned it only opened two months ago, but I suggest those guys come back and give it a second chance.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked by Chef Adrianne also viewed

 

Been to Cracked by Chef Adrianne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing