We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Ocean Buffet - CLOSED

Ocean Buffet
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: International
Description: New owner,New management,great food
Restaurant details
Description: New owner,New management,great food
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I thought the food was good when I used to go to this buffet when it was Whistle Junction and I was fancinated with the train but not that it has reinvented itself I find that I still like it. They do have a very large selection of foods to choose from. The service is great and the restaurant is clean and the food very appertizing. They have a stir-fry station if you like that, It's very Asian yet international. Good food very decent prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    17
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Buffet in Area”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My hubby likes Chinese buffets, but I'm not that fond. Usually it's a lot of lukewarm vegetables with a little chicken or pork, and just a few seafood dishes. This place was awesome. It's very clean, and the buffet is constantly being refreshed. I was surprised at the amount of seafood. Delicious mussels, whole baked salmon, shrimp different preparations, clams, even froglegs. Four different soups, delicious dumplings, sushi, and lotss of fresh seafood that you choose to have grilled in front of you. Nice selection of desserts and ice cream. It was a big surprise to me, plus at $7 for lunch and $11 for dinner, it's a steal. Local apaper and tourist magazines often have good coupons for this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetLuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very solid Oriental Buffet in South Daytona.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very large buffet...nice selection of Asian and American foods...very good steamed shrimp, fresh oysters and clams...sushi bar selection is average at best, not as good as some Sushi Buffets but better than most...Solid Value for the money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WakeUpwithDougK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally, hot food at a buffet!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I were in South Daytona Beach and we adore chinese buffet. The hotel concierge recommended Ocean Buffet and what a treat it was. The assortment of food was amazing and the food was HOT! Usually in a buffet it is luke warm at best; this was terrific. Our server was a gentlemen named Gao Yu Feng a visiting student from Rhode Island University studying restaurant management. He couldnt have picked a better place to learn...amazing service and cuisine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best of the Chinese American Buffets”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stumbled upon this gem and have been back multiple times. Food is a notch above the average Buffet, with the addition of Sushi Bar, Soup Bar, and Wok/Hibachi. Value is spectacular @$7.50 for lunch and $11 for dinner. Best bet for families with picky eaters...selection/variety should please everybody.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfman231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing