We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem that we will be returning to.”
Review of Big Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Melverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem that we will be returning to.”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

An amazing place,ideal for small groups or a couple wanting a bit of tranquility.Rooms were clean, light & very comfortable.Rachel & Mark were fantastic hosts,couldn't do enough for you. will be back!

Room Tip: The Communal area is great to sit as a group to enjoy the view if you dont want to head back out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicnakpaddywak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
137
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here in two pods last night just for the one night. They are a really great alternative to camping and have plenty of room inside along with lighting, electricity and a heater in case it gets cold.

Only saw two toilets and one shower for women and what I assume was the same for men near the camping pods but I am assuming there are more facilities for the tent part of the site (didn't really get chance to explore). Facilities were very clean and appeared quite new; and exactly what we needed after our day out.

Rachel was very welcoming and recommend a really nice local pub for food in the evening.

Would recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere quiet and slightly off the beaten track - We will be staying here again on our next trip up this way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shar0nC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This is unquestionably top class accommodation. Our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and generally of the highest standard including a lovely wet room. Rachel and Mark are brilliant hosts and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and even gave us a lift to and from the local pub!
Mark cooked us a wonderful breakfast to set us on our way the next day.
We will definitely be returning!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mawfortyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight at the big bear lodge, winner of four in a bed, channel 4 and I must say, very a well deserved winner, amazing high quality room, fantastic wet room, our hosts Rachel and Mark were delightful, friendly and engaging. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful, the lodge Is set in beautiful countryside with outstanding scenery from every window, wouldn't hesitate to recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights and I must say what a fantastic time we had. Rachel and mark were great and couldn't be more helpful will be staying again in the winter so cosy and relaxing and the breakfast is just to die for thanks again guys much appreciated and what lovely champagne ;) ben and Keeleigh

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Though not strictly glamping (no 4 poster bed, air con, and meals
to your tent) this was the best tonic to a busy pre bank hol week... From the moment we pulled up to the moment we left we haven't felt more at ease and welcome in a b&b. the whole site was safe and clean, showers and toilets were spotless, the pods themselves were spotless and the heater was plenty big enough to keep them nice and cosy. We had 2 double inflatables, one for me and the wife, and one for the little frogs (the kids!) and it basically filled the pod-(
we stayed in the eagles nest-a smaller one) The only downside is that we had to sleep in the same room as the kids so when they got up then everyone else had to!!!
Massive thanks the owners who were always lovely, and a special mention for the breakfast we had on our first morning!! Fabulous!!! And never ending!!! :))
My advice is stay for any reason you'd want to go camping, or b&b or both... It's worth a visit and there are loads of things to do nearby either organised by the bbl or other attractions in the welcome pack in each room and pod.
Can't praise this place enough. If you've see them on the TV - then believe all you see, loved it all!
We will be returning at some stage, with or without the kids!
Merci bien!

Ian, Carole, Xav & Elise!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Big Bear Lodge is awesome! The owners Rachael and Mark make you feel like you're staying with friends, and they can't do enough for you.

We were a party of 5, 4 adults and one 9 month baby. The rooms were fresh, modern and sumptuous. They provided a travel cot and we were able to use the kitchen facilities such as the fridge, microwave etc which made staying there with a baby so much easier. The communal area and kitchen (all open plan) were just down the hall and could be used at any time, which meant that we didn't feel confined to our rooms when we were back at the lodge - which is so often the case when you stay at a B&B.

The lodge is set in the countryside and overlooks some stunning scenery - you really feel that you're away from it all and somewhere special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelaohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melverley
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
181 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
6.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
663 reviews
23.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
20.1 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lodge

Property: Big Bear Lodge
Address: Hendre Villa, Melverley SY10 8PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Melverley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Melverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Big Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing