We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wekiva Falls RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I tent camped in Wekiva Falls KOA for 4 days in November 2012. The weather was wonderful and so were the other campers. The resort staff were friendly and ready to help. They have a huge water slide, a camp market (store), a great Tiki Hut, a large swimming area with a metal silo that pushes water up into the air. There are lots of picnic tables and sunning lounge chairs for use. They also have different programs going on that you can choose to join. The best part for us was seeing the wild bears that roam the area. The last night there, a large female was eating acorns from the ground in front of the market. Wekiva Falls KOA in Sorrento, Florida has a canoe and kayak outpost which is very rustic and "old" Florida. We loved it and intent to go back again!

Room Tip: Ask to stay near the Tiki Hut or the swimming area, whichever is your preference. The sites have el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyAllen2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wekivafallskoa, Owner at Wekiva Falls RV Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our pleasure to host you at our park. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon! We very much appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    95
    30
    15
    25
See reviews for
195
67
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Camped at Wekiva for a week and enjoyed our stay. A few glitches: Upon arriving we needed a 50 amp extension cord and the office was out, but did put something together to hold us over until the next morning until we could get one. Note to oneself....bring extension cords! The sulfur smell is strong and eventually gave my husband a headache. It was late on a Saturday afternoon when we arrived and there were some partying going on at the springs, but nothing that bothered us. Overall, a peaceful place and a nice visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wekivafallskoa, Owner at Wekiva Falls RV Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. It is true, with some of our sites being so large, the electric is a little far away. We usually offer extension cords to our guests upon check-in, I apologize we were not able to get one to you right away! I hope you will continue to visit us in the future. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am the head of a YMCA Indian Guides group that travels around central FL and camps 5-6 times Oct - May every year. Our group is about 100-150 people strong and Wekiva Falls is always on our calendar as one of the campouts.

We had a great time at Wekiva Falls, as we always do. Your campground is perfect for us as it is close to home and has nice, big sites and our one tribe really loves the point (the primitive camping area next to the spring run).

Your campground offers a lot of amenities that our group loves and takes full advantage of; the swimming lagoon, canoe rentals, Tiki Bar, camp store, fishing and the new Rip Slide. My boys loved the slide, they both did an hour worth of sliding on Saturday afternoon. Your staff could not be friendlier or more helpful, I thought the escorting to the sites would be unnecessary, but I actually got a lot of positive feedback about how your staff drove them to their sites. So keep doing what you are doing, our group loved the personal attention and the amenities. We had a bear sighting late on Saturday night, he tore through our trash and opened a cooler and had a bit of left over steak. I had never seen a bear while camping so that was cool to see as long as he is only looking for food and not people - which he was so we were good. Your older gentleman (I didn’t catch his name) who drives around picking up trash actually saw one of our trash cans was getting full and hopped off the tractor and came into our campsite and emptied it for us and put a new bag in the can, that was way above and beyond the call of duty, but much appreciated. Also Lyne at the Tiki Bar is awesome, I remember her from years past when she was doing the trash runs.

Also a big positive for us is that alcohol is allowed, our group keeps it within reason, but some campgrounds do not allow any alcohol. We did not encounter any drunk and disorderly conduct as some of the previous reviewers mentioned.

We will definitely be back (probably Oct 2013).

Room Tip: Premium sites are much bigger than the standard sites - definitely recommend going to the premium si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wekivafallskoa, Owner at Wekiva Falls RV Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We always enjoy hosting the YMCA Indian Guides group and can't wait to do it again next year. I appreciate your review since your group is so unique it is nice to have another perspective of what we offer. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Let me start by saying location, location, location. I could not believe how close this campground was to Orlando and all its amenities while still seeming a bit wild and outdoorsy like camping should, bears and all. We got a "deal" on Living Social but wound up probably paying more than we would have just by booking our reservation directly. It included our campground with electricity, two canoe rentals and $10 credit at the tiki bar. We would have probably been better off, in retrospect, booking an unimproved site directly by the water. It was cheaper and had lots of shade. We were camping with another couple and 5 children, all ages 10 and under. On Friday and Saturday nights, they host karaoke by the tiki bar, and if you mind drunken, raucous yowling, you should probably camp on different nights. That sound carries. On the bright side, they shut it down at 10:00, and the revelers pretty much peacefully retreat to their tents. The canoeing is fun, and we had none of the problems experienced by other reviewers. We row, row, rowed our boats gently up the stream, checking out the turtles and such, until we turned around and headed back. The "pond" with the water slide island is natural Florida water with its beautiful sulfur aroma, and nothing can be done about that. If the smell bothers you, I can't say I blame you, so head for the pool. It's nothing special, but it's heated and sulfur free. The tiki bar has a cook-your-own burgers and dogs policy, but they keep a lit grill, and that's sort of cool if you're going for the authentic camping vibe. If you're not, lots of hotels and restaurants are close by. Basically, this place is rough-and-tumble camping. It was blue-collar all the way, but still fun. We are planning to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haleytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wekivafallskoa, Owner at Wekiva Falls RV Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear your group enjoyed the trip. I know sometimes with kids, travel can be difficult, but it sounds like they were able to take part in the fun we had available for them! If you are looking for a primitive site on your next visit and still would like a deal, please visit our website for all available Hot Deals. We are always offering up something!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

So me and my girlfriend decided to take my sister and her kids (14 & 10) to enjoy a resort for her birthday. New to the area and unknowing of what was in store we chose Wekiva Falls or as I like to now put it, we leave you if you fall.
We parked after speaking with the very nice woman at the gate, paid for my sisters entry car fee then went about our way.
We parked and headed out to the waterpark area but after a few minutes decided to go canoeing because if the stench by the water area.
We paid for four extra people which amounted to 2 3-sweater canoes, told the woman it was our first time and she went over her spill of the route and haves us lifejackets, we signed our paperwork, gave our driver licenses and went out to canoe.
We headed out and everything seemed fine, we headed to what we assumed was our landmark and turned around. Current started to get a little strong on our way back, which eventually led to our canoeing catching a little water we tried to slowly continue and then it happened. We sank, me, my nephew (10) and my sister. My girl dropped off my neice close by and a little boat dock and came back and got my nephew who was terrified and choking me in fear of drowning because he held on so tight. She took him to te dock nearby and came back and tried to continue rescuing us one by one however that led to their canoe sinking. 15 minutes later and 4 people in the water just waiting for someone to pass us by.
Finally to guys came to help us, one went for help while the other had us hold on the sides of his canoe and get to a different dock.
The first guy came back and said although he told them there was some people down back there she only asked where the canoes were, even after mentioning kids. So they stayed with us and some other people came with kids and were able to get one canoe out and took it back to the starting point while the two guys worked together to literally pull the other canoe up while the other paddled. This all took almost 2 hours and luckily we all eventually made it back safe THANKS TO GOOD SUMARITANS ONLY.
When we arrived back we were told the sheriffs who claimed to not have a boat to come get us (yet the entire time they had been parked by the front gate) arrived on the side of the tiki bar and never came to address or show concern as to what transpired. The woman at the tiki bar made about 2-3 phone calls to ( the owner as she stated) that we had to pay 250.00 for a rescue that never existed or came. Just because we were rescued we needed to pay before getting our driver's licenses back.
Needless to say they finally made us ( a deal) we didn't have to pay in return we needed to leave the resort immediately or it was trespassing. During the rescue out sandals were lost so not only did we have to take a walk of shame as if we had did something wrong but we had to walk through the gravel barefoot all the way back with our cold hot dogs that we couldn't even cook after we paid for them. How's that for a birthday with the family. Again to those that helped us, Thank you again sincerely.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HappyGoKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wekivafallskoa, Owner at Wekiva Falls RV Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
When you rented a canoe from Wekiva Falls, there were explicit instructions to follow while out on the river. These policies are in place for your safety. Everyone is instructed to take the river to the right due to the currents and course of the river. Your group went to the left; against our policies and instructions. When we were notified of your situation, we called our head of maintenance, on his day off to help get you to safety. As he was getting ready, we found out that there was someone launching a boat who could get to you quicker. We asked them if they would go help you to get you so we could get you back as quickly and safely as possible. When you rented the canoe equipment from us, you signed a document with more policies and instructions that you again chose to ignore. We run our business with the safety of all our guests in mind. We did everything we could to get to safety as fast as possible. Your review is one half of the story and while unfortunate, could have been prevented. If you do not follow the instructions we lay out, it is difficult for us to do much beyond that to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. Our guests are always our number one focus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First I requested a premium site in a specific location in the park, the location was fine the site on the other hand was a dismal place to put even a dog house. First of my site was sandwich between the maint. building/shack/water plant and group of drunks that lived there full time. Guess what? the full timers also worked at the campground. I will start there. The full timers camp site was a garbage dump with surplus of at least 5 BBQ grills, a junk boat, junk RV parts and junk cars. Nice real nice. The maint. area had a gate on my side which had a steady stream of noisy tractors and machinery going in and out all day long, saws running through out the weekend and just plain out miserable noise. So much for relaxing at the campsite. Now the campsite itself was a premium site, how could this be?? No pick nick table, no on site grill and a mud hole. I had friend coming to stay on the site with us and they were going to stay in a tent. Not only did they get charge an extra $28 per night when we were less than 8 people allowed per site. I tried to change sites and the staff would not allow it. So my friends had to stay in a small travel trailer because the ground was too wet for a tent and they would not allow a refund. So much for a premium site, the non premium sites had nice concrete pads and every one of them had a pick nick table, go figure.

Lets talk about the swimming area. I am not unfamiliar with the sulfur water of the springs as I have been coming to this place for about 35 years but what this place has become is an absolute shame. The water was murky and dirty filled with food debris, cigarette butts and floating beer cans. This place has because knows as the redneck riviera. Not so rednecks don't act like this and the park security just sits back and allows it. This place is loaded with drunk white trash!! I don't mind the alcohol but what I do mind is the drunks getting freaky in the nasty water, drunk women having ''who can dance the nastiest on the swim deck" contest. Women in full length white T-shirts with no swim suit underneath, under age drinking and the list goes on. I couldn't allow my 12 year old daughter to be at the swimming area. The DJ playing music has it playing so loud you can't carry on a conversation anywhere in the swim area.

This is not a family friendly atmosphere. It is one X away from being XXX adult only. Needless to say I will never visit the park again unless some changes are made. This is also the second KOA I stayed at that was a serious disappointment and no where nearly as nice as the description says. I guess I will have to pay closer attention to the reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went here with our 3 children ages 10, 3 and 10 months. We stayed in a full-hookup tent site for 2 nights. The sites our very large, we had 2 big tents and a gazboo on ours with plenty of room left. All the staff was very nice, and they kept the area very clean. The swimming hole was awesome! My older son loved the slides. While my little 1's were able to enjoy the beach and shallow water. We had a great time and will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wekivafallskoa, Manager at Wekiva Falls RV Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! I hope your children enjoy making memories with us for years to come! Stay tuned to the Hot Deals page of our website for great discounts! See you soon, safe travels til then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wekiva Falls RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wekiva Falls RV Resort

Property: Wekiva Falls RV Resort
Address: 30700 Wekiva River Rd, Sorrento, FL 32776-9042 (Formerly Wekiva Falls KOA)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 817

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing