We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yurting...!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bredfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suffolk Yurt Holidays
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had such a lovely time at Suffolk Yurts. As a family with young kids we found so much to do with the coast nearby and the River Deben just down the road. The yurts were very comfortable and nothing like my memories of camping in a small tent! We were made to feel welcome and all our needs catered for. Thank you Kay and Graham for such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: All the yurts are equally situated in a beautiful wild flower meadow, and well spaced to allow for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 43 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Suffolk is one of our favourite places as it is still unspoilt and there is so much to see and it is not that far from London where we were staying. We were delighted to find this haven not far from all of the sights we wanted to see. Some quite cultured such as Snape Maltings Concert Hall. Most of the things we love about Suffolk is getting away from it all and enjoying the simple things in life.The kids love to go crabbing off the pier at Walberswick and cycling down the mounds at Orford Castle. We love Pinneys fish restaurant there and then enjoying the best Eccles cakes at Pump Street Bakery.We bought some fresh fish from the fishermen at Southwold harbour and cooked it back at our base. This is the second time we have chosen Suffolk Yurt Holidays. The yurts are authentically built and are very comfortable. They are so large inside with a small wood burning stove and plenty of room. The facilities are great so that we can eat well and enjoy the lovely setting. The showers and bathrooms meant that we had all the home comforts yet felt far away from everything. I real holiday for us all. I can understand why so many people come back to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A great experience spending the long Easter weekend in a Yurt in Suffolk. It's pretty far removed from camping as the Yurt is quite large for 2 people, easy standing room, 2 double futons (we had one as a sofa), a wood burning stove and plenty of space spare. It's an incredibly simple structure from Mongolian heritage, with a lattice of wood making up the walls, canvas covering and a skylight at the top to star gaze if you're lucky with the weather! You even have your own wooden door which made me feel like a Hobbit! What makes it similar to camping is that the bathroom is not en suite so you need to go to the loos/wash/shower rooms very nearby, along with the communal kitchen area. I have to say though that these communal wash rooms and kitchen area have been fitted to a high spec and very nicely done, utilising one of the small nearby wooden barns. In the summer I can imagine the private BBQ, table and chairs would be superb. The location is great to get out into the country, very tranquil setting, the Yurts are very well spaced apart and the surrounding area is ideal for cycling and walks. My only negative comment is the futons are too small, in width and length. I slept badly for 3 nights as did my girlfriend, despite the wonderful Egyptian cotton bedding. There's plenty of space inside so I'd suggest at least swapping one of the futons for a slightly larger double bed. Otherwise a great experience and tastefully done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayVerdiWyld, Owner at Suffolk Yurt Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always looking to give our Guests the best possible experience for a lovely stay and to learn how to improve things. We are glad to hear you both enjoyed your stay, but very sorry to hear the bed size was too small for you.

So far we have only had positive feedback about the quality of the beds and sleep from our Guests. The futons and extra thick cotton mattresses have been specially made in Yorkshire to be larger (200cm x 140cm) and have 8 layers instead of the usual 5! We do appreciate peoples bed preferences are personal, as is their height. For instance during the same Easter Break, we had one lady say she’d had the best sleep she’d had for 15 years. However, we do take your comments very seriously and are now considering a larger bed for those of our Guests who are very tall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of August and enjoyed it so much I thought it was time to write my first ever review on Trip Advisor praising what Kay and Graham have created. Situated in a tranquil, beautiful part of Suffolk our family spent a very enjoyable, relaxing four days. Our yurt was spotless, the kitchen was spotless so too the shower and toilet block. It rained, not often, but it did not matter as the yurt was spacious and warm and so cosy with the wood burner stove. Loved also the communal fire at the end of the day and to sit down and chat with other couples and families. Our children had the freedom and safety to run off and play with other children staying and only returned for food. Thank you Kay and Graham for creating such a lovely holiday destination and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I've just got home from a weekend stay at Suffolk Yurt Holidays and loved it. My friends / family and I were there for 2 nights and hired 2 yurts for our stay. It's a lovely part of the country near some really fab places (like Aldeburgh & Snape). The facilities are great and the experience was definitely one I wish to do again...soon!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jacksonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first stay in a yurt. We fancied doing something different this year. To be honest I do not do camping anymore...now I am over 40 I prefer a bit of luxury!. The yurts were in their own little meadows which was lovely with our own BBQ and own table and chairs. The toilet, shower and kitchen facilities were very clean. Although we took our own saucepans and frying pan...even these were provided. All you have to take is food clothes and towels. Because there is only 5 yurts you do not have to wait to use any of the facilities....not like on an oversized camp site. It is in a beautiful area of suffolk with the coast on your doorstep. We visited Aldburgh and Framlingham castle which were both great family days out. The yurts are huge inside with plently of room for a family of 4. Can highly recommend. Thanks to Kay and Graham and Indie (the dog)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We hade a great three days at Suffolk Yurts. Kay and Graham made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The site is very clean as were the yurts, toilet and cooking facilities. We had three double beds in the yurt and there was still plenty of room for all five of us. We enjoyed spending some family time in the countryside, with no distractions, and we will definately return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADZ6148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suffolk Yurt Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suffolk Yurt Holidays

Address: Ufford Road | Bredfield, Bredfield IP13 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bredfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bredfield
Price Range: $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wonderful green luxury yurt camping holiday, where each of the 5 handcrafted Yurts enjoys tranquillity in a sanctuary of wildflower meadows and ancient trees. Within easy reach of the lovely beaches, quiet rural lanes and historic villages of the Suffolk Heritage Coast. Well located from London or the Midlands, it's a perfect holiday from which to experience beaches and nature reserves, cycling, walking, sailing fantastic food, music and literary festivals and much more ... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing