We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Marcoles
Post
Inbox
Search

“The Hidden Gem of Cantal”
Review of Auberge de la Tour

Auberge de la Tour
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 1/29
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Marcoles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $105
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At the crossroads of Quercy, Rouergue and the Auvergne mountains, gastronomy and conviviality are in the spotlight! Auberge de la Tour in the Cantal is a perfect example. Chef Renaud Darmanin invites you to discover his gourmet restaurant in the heart of Marcolès. His refined cuisine dishes and attractively presented dishes set the tone for fine dining. Fresh seasonal ingredients and flavours from here and beyond fill the air with delectable aromas from the dining room to the terrace near the fountain in the summer. Two private dining rooms, including one vaulted room, are available for your private parties or business receptions.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

In the heart of Cantal region in France, there is a little charming village called Marcolès. Surrounded by a bucolic countryside rich of legendary cows which produce some of the best milk and beef in the world, there is the "Auberge de La Tour" with its amazing restaurant. Chef Renaud Darmanin invites you to discover his Michelin-starred restaurant. With his wife, he took over two years ago the orders of the Auberge de la Tour, in the heart of the Cantalian chestnut grove in this medieval city, labeled "small city of character". "Also this charming stone building dating from the 17th century, with its corner tower and its spiral staircase. The chef Darmanin works only very beautiful fresh products and makes a fine and tasty cuisine, marrying with talent the terroir to spices from here and elsewhere. We have met him and his amazing staff on June 1st 2018 and came here specifically to try this thrilling gourmet experience, at dinner time. First of all, we immediately noticed the quality and preparation of the team and so it wasn't a big surprise to expect from them a top level hospitality, during our staying there. "Auberge de La Tour" has very nice rooms completely renewed with modern style and fine decor. They respected even the ancient architecture of the tower. In the evening we went down the old stone stair to the restaurant and when we sat at the table we immediately met "Sophie Jammet", the chef sommelier, who welcomed us. This woman really impressed us for her ability in pairing wines perfectly to each of the dishes that we have tested. Our final score for this French restaurant is 20/20. We think the chef and his team will get another Michelin star in the future because their efforts and dedication are very high.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Travelscore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2018

A stunning meal - innovative, creative, delicious - accompanied by glorious wines, in the heart of the beautiful Chataignerais, provided a very special backdrop to a long-awaited celebration with friends. The young chef and his talented team produced a wonderful menu, bursting with flavour and dedicated to local specialities (including the decorative flowers and leaves picked from neighbouring meadows!), exquisitely crafted and elegantly served.

In addition to delicious amuse-bouches and gorgeous petits-fours, the stand out dishes for me were the slow cooked pork with carrots; and the foie-gras. But it was all a visual and gastronomic treat.

Special thanks to the head sommelier, Sophie, who made us feel entirely at home, and recommended a wonderful selection of fabulous wines.

Congratulations to the enthusiastic young team running the Auberge de la Tour - your recent Michelin star is very well deserved, and your attention to detail and warm welcome much applauded!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

We were very pleased to discover this restaurant in the region. We come every year to the region (from Geneva) and for sure we will come back to this restaurant.

Sophisticated cuisine and very friendly service.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Guachiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

my first time in marcoles at auberge de la tour having diner with such an amazing staff in the restauirant with an excellent product knowledge the food was amazing with an excellent starter the duck liver poched with a jelly of wine follow by an faux fillet with its seasonal mushrooms and finally a delight dessert entremet chocolate guanjuja all my food was well followed with an excellent sommelier a lady which propse me an amazing wine to accompany my diner a HERMITAGE 2014 la pierelle chateau st cosme

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 177jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Hello Evryone,
I've just visited this restaurant and I really appreciate the services there,their welcoming and the way the waiter server us with all the necessary details and all and not to mention that the meal was just fabulous .Hate off to the chef who has prepare the meal.
Really recommend other to visit this place,,,

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Kishan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de la Tour also viewed

 

Been to Auberge de la Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing