We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family day”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Springs Recreation Area
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to juniper spring for family day, We loved it the staff are very nice and polite. We walked in the trail it soo beautiful its very quite it felt so peaceful just you and mother nature. The water is soo cold but after a while you dont even feel it my kids loved it so much they want to go back. We recommend it .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Juniper Springs Recreation Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We came here .. and I have to admit: I expected something more, something special, but it is just a medium sized pool around the water sources there, crowds are occupying the pool, the board walk along the creek is nice but nothing special really. Overall 10 bucks for 2 person for nothing. After 30mins we were out .. and to the next disappointment: Salt Springs ... to be continued .. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently went on the canoe/kayak run and had a great time. We are not experts but we both did have experiance kayaking and that helped alot . I would not recomend this for a beginner at all. Also If you do not want to get wet or if you are scared of faling in this is not for you. The run is very challenging with many turns and obsticales that you have to navigate. We saw plenty of wild life as well, Plenty of fish, 2 gators, a moccasin and even a deer.If you do plan on doing the run I would recomend a kayak, this is a very difficult run and you will likelly have to get out or possibly flip if you are in a canoe. It ia also 4 hours long through wild Florida so be prepared, this is not a gentle canoe down a nice wide stream. If you like a little adventure this is a must do. As for some of the comments about the staff being rude I did not see that at all. They were very firm in trying to let you know that the canoe trip was not for beginners and that it was up to 4.5 hours with no turning back. They were very busy and did a great job getting us signed in and on our way. The headspring is a great place to cool off and relax after the trip.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jbgator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Employees from beginning to end were rude and condescending; we found out that this recreation area is not run by the Ocala National Forest but RRM (Recreation Resource Management), a private company. They certainly act as if they do not want to be there and they do not want you to be there. The park is dirty, littered areas, and restrooms not clean. Also,if you want to make a day of it with picnic items, sandwiches, soda, water, ect. think again because the park will not allow you to take these items into the park...not a relaxing environment. We are a married couple just wanting to do a little hiking and then have lunch. Ended up going over to Mill Dam Park, much nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pinky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After you purchase your rental from the concession shop, you have to get your kayak and wheel it on a cart a pretty good distance to the launch site. For my friend and I (two girls in their mid-twenties, who have kayaked full moon tours a hand full of times) the beginning was fairly easy. About three miles in, we encountered a fallen tree that was not passable. The only option was to get out of our kayak and climb after that big sucker, maneuver our kayaks underneath, then climb back in to continue down the path. This wouldn't have been such a big deal had the water not been so deep in that particular spot. It was quite the challenge, but we made it through. After that obstacle, the run became really winding and there's a lot of turning that is involved. We saw some people who chose a canoe and watching them bump on logs and turning those tight corners made my friend and I really happy that we decided upon the kayaks. There is a part of the stream where the current really picks up. I think it's around mile 5 or so. We got a little worried because we thought the creek was going to be that quick for the duration of the trip. We were pretty scared to continue! Anyways, we went for it and it only carries you along for about ten seconds. Throughout, there were a lot of logs that we had to scoot ourselves off of, but we never got stuck. It was definitely a more challenging course than we had anticipated, but it was gorgeous. There were A LOT of turtles along the way. We even saw three gators, one of which had to of been ten feet long. Thank goodness he was asleep on the bank, taking in the sunshine.
Overall, I do believe that I would go again. The only part that was a big pain was getting out of the kayak for the log. Which we were told that it has only been there for two weeks since some big storms knocked it down. One of the employees told us at checkout that there was talk of the Florida Park Service coming out soon to blow it up with a bunch of dynamite!
Also, I'd like to add that we left the launch at noon and arrived to the pick-up dock at 4:20. Ten minutes before we were expected. We really took our time and even back paddled for fifteen minutes trying to find our canoe buddies. (Which we almost missed the dock! It's located RIGHT after the bridge you go under in the end, tucked back to the right, hidden behind some bushes. So be sure to look out for it.)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The campground was big with a variety of sites. When we visited it wasn't very busy so it was private and quiet. The springs are beautiful, with crystal clear water that produce some amazing blues and greens. Its gorgeous. the swimming hole is pretty busy with locals on the weekends but during the week its pretty quiet.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jlt_5266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived about 9:15 AM on a Friday and had our choice of any camp sites with the exception of the two closest to the bathhouse. We picked the third closest and went kayaking leaving the setting up of camp for later. We made arrangements to have leave our car at the takeout point and paid our launch fee. We had to buy a couple nalgene bottles and a piece of Tupperware to hold our drinks and food as nothing disposable is permitted.

The run is very narrow at places where there are fallen trees and it is not for beginners. As there was only one canoe ahead of us and we launched 45 minutes later there was never any holdup. We were able to complete the run in 3 hours. If we had waited until Saturday, I estimate it would have taken a minimum of four hours with the congestion. It was a long wait to even launch. The run is beautiful, the water is clear so enjoy it. There are only a few parking spots out the haul out and you must have a permit from the rental office to park there. The shuttle van with racks runs every hour on the half hour until 4:30. We were told of a couple who must have they were in the Deliverance movie did not arrive at the haul out until after 6 PM.

When we returned to the campsite there were a couple guys starting to set up, so we showed them our tag with site number and they moved quickly. The campsites are huge with plenty of privacy.
The bathhouse was clean and had hot water for showers as well as a dish-washing closet. There were recycling stations at the swimming area but none in the campground.

I was shocked at how quiet the campground was in the evening. Most of the tented campsites are first come first served. Since I am over 65 we used my Senior pass for free admission and reduced camping fees. We will visit again prior to the hot weather.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Odojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Springs
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs
20.8 mi away
Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East
23.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel
21.0 mi away
BG Sun Plaza
BG Sun Plaza
#2 of 8 in Silver Springs
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Recreation Area

Address: 26701 E Highway 40, Ocala National Forest, Silver Springs, FL 34488-6741
Location: United States > Florida > Silver Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Silver Springs
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Recreation Area Hotel Silver Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing