We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I had hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Silver Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stay at HIE's often and chose this location as vacation with my reward nights. It is an older feeling hotel with outdated decor and worn out furniture. The staff was often seen sitting at the reception desk talking and seemed disinterested when I asked for directions. I was not impressed with the "hard sell" I had to listen to while checking in...something about listening to a video to get a Visa card and being given a menu for a local Italian restaurant and told to be sure and patronize them. Breakfast was a big bottle neck with tourists hovering around the food while deciding what to have and taking forever to get out of the way. We chose not to eat breakfast there for the rest of the week because of that.
The room was not comfortable. The chair was a stiff little club chair that was anything but comfortable. The bathroom had mold in the caulking and just did not feel clean. For most of the week, our room was not cleaned until after 3:30pm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyAnne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with our facility. Our hotel is only about 5 years old and we do invest a lot in preventative maintenance to keep the place looking like new. Most guests who stay with us believe our hotel to be brand new. If you can provide us the room number which you were in, we can carefully go over it and check for any imperfections and fix them. I can understand your frustration with the check-in spiel, however, the mention of the video was in regards to a Priority Club promotion which is currently being offered at all Holiday Inn hotels. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 659 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the HIE based on glowing reviews of this location. It was slightly out of our way but sounded worth it. I gotta say I wouldn't go out of my way again. I stay at a lot of HI properties due to my job and we have earned platinum status in their rewards program. This location is one of the cleanest, most well maintained properties I have stayed in. And the staff is very nice and they were very helpful and friendly. Their TV/cable is THE best I have ever seen in a hotel. The down side is small details that were missing. I requested extra towels when I made the reservation due to my family of 4 traveling and there's never enough towels. They called to confirm our reservation the day before we left and acknowledged the request. But when we reached our room, not enough towels. Also, every HIE I have ever stayed in has supplied the courtesy shampoo, conditioner, lotion and a facial soap bar as well as a regular bar of soap. Not this one. No conditioner, no facial bar, not even a bath mat to put down. I know these are small details and not deal breakers, but they are standard for this chain and I expected at least the standard from a location that bills itself as one of their best. To be fair, when I went down to the front desk they gladly supplied me with a complimentary shampoo and conditioner. But when my wife and kids (all girls) are trying to wash their hair is not the time you want to discover the bottle you thought was conditioner is actually hand lotion. So you have to go scrambling downstairs to find conditioner. Just a constructive critique.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil4Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you Phil. I want to sincerely apologize for the confusion. I do not know why we dropped the ball on your special request for extra towels or why the toiletries in your room were incorrect. As you mentioned, the bathmat, shampoo and conditioner are all brand standards and should ALWAYS be placed in every guest room. My only guess is that perhaps the housekeeper who serviced your room was new or maybe you checked in early and the housekeeping supervisor didn't have a chance to go over the room and ensure everything was perfect. Usually we go to great pains to ensure that everything is exactly perfect and we double everything. Again, I am so sorry for these mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a little out of our way, but the price was excellent and the reviews on trip advisor helped us make our decision. It was well worth the extra 20 minutes from the interstate. They took care of all the little annoying aspects of the last hotel at which we stayed. A full length mirror, extra sugar for coffee besides the prepackaged one serving, a folded end of bed cover that opened to an extra needed blanket, and extra empty counter space for all my toiletries in the bathroom were those things I truly appreciated besides the cleanliness of the entire hotel. Others had said the breakfast was better than most, but I didn't find any difference. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Linda, thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Silver Springs! We are so pleased that you found it worth your while to drive the extra few miles and come visit us. We hope that the rest of your trip to Ocala was also a success. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a four night stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Silver Springs (Ocala, Florida) and found it to be way better than average. The staff was fantastic. I don't think we ever passed a staff member in the hallway or lobby without being greeted with a smile and a warm greeting. The rooms weren't just clean - they were so clean they sparkled! We have stayed in quite a large nuimber of motels in both the Holiday Inn chain and other well known name chains. This one was far and away the best. We will be back to vist again on our next trip to Florida. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you James! We are so pleased that you noticed the cleanliness and friendliness of our hotel facility and staff. We truly invest a lot of time and energy to ensure that all of our guest rooms are perfect. This has made our Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Silver Springs one of the top hotels in the brand and a recipient of the prestigious Torchbearer Award.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Ocala was beyond expectations. The room was very large and priced like a much smaller room. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. The complimentary hot breakfast was wonderful. Biscuits, gravy, eggs and many other options were available. This was one of our best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caneschik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our Holiday Inn Express of Silver Springs, Florida! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and delicious breakfast. We hope that if you find yourself back in Ocala again, that you come back and visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nicely priced, this new property has it all over the nearby HI Express in Ocala. The staff is wonderful, making sure of our comfort. The breakfast is prepared in a wholesome way, and the breakfast room is large enough for a crowd. I called the hotel directly to find that they were fully booked, but that I would be called if a room became available, and this is exactly what happened. This HI Express is near great shopping and quite a few nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor....no noise to speak of.....try to get a room away from the elevator and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank say24hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you so much! Our Holiday Inn Express hates turning away guests and we will do everything possible to ensure availability for our loyal guests. Although Ocala is not a huge city, there are some days when we find ourselves very busy or even sold out. We recommend that every guest book as far in advance as possible to reserve a spot and also to ensure a lower rate. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

it was the death of my father that cause me to be home. i was so overjoyed at the compassion that was afforded us. everyone was outstanding in the performance of their duties. i believe that they went far and above the way we were treated. everything was perfect from the room to the food and location was just were we should be. the whole time we stayed i felt at peace and the place just sparkled for the work housekeeping had done. I tell you i can only say that non can compare to the excellence and professional care that we received. thank you so very much for the concern that was shown during our grief . YOU WILL ALWAYS BE THE GREATEST.

Room Tip: the room on the south side was quiet and allowed good and safe exit and entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harold m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Harold, we are so sorry for your loss. Although it is a very sad occasion that brought you to Ocala, we are pleased that we could help you and your family during your time of grief. We hope that you have found some peace. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Springs
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
345 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
8.8 mi away
Hilton Ocala
Hilton Ocala
#3 of 34 in Ocala
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs

Address: 5360 E Silver Springs Blvd, Silver Springs, FL 34488-1714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Silver Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Silver Springs
Price Range: $93 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Silver Springs-Ocala is located next to Silver Springs State Park, home of the historic and world-famous Glass Bottom Boats. The hotel is in close proximity to the Silver River State Park, the Ocala National Forest, numerous fresh water springs (Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Salt Springs, Silver Springs, Silver Glen Springs, and Rainbow Springs), the horse farms of Ocala and Marion County, the Horse Capital of the World, Wild Waters Water Park (next door), the beautiful Appleton Museum, Downtown Ocala's business district, the Ocala rotary Sportsplex, Shocker Park softball complex, and Big Sun soccer complex. The hotel is just an hour and a half away from world famous Daytona Beach and the Daytona Beach International Speedway. En-route to Daytona, one will pass numerous fishing spots such as Lake George, Lake Kerr, and the St. Johns River. There are numerous hiking, bird watching, and off road venues in the Ocala National Forest. The hotel features 55 queen rooms and 20 suites. Jacuzzi suites with separate walk-in showers are available upon request. Meeting and business service facilities are on site. The hotel also features a heated pool, fitness room, and guest laundry and dry cleaning services. All guests can enjoy free high speed Internet, free local calls, and a breakfast bar featuring the Express brand Cinnamon Roll, in-room coffee, the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, the Simply Smart Showerhead, an over sized work desk and a hot breakfast buffet featuring the Express brand Cinnamon Roll. This hotel is a Florida Certified Green Property and is a 100 percent smoke free facility. Early Check-in and late Check-out are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs Hotel Silver Springs
Holiday Inn Silver Springs
Silver Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing