We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not reccommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Silver Springs
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The mattress in our room was very uncomfortable. My husband and I both woke up sore all over from sleeping on it. The back parking lot looked like a dump with an old van that looks like it’s been sitting there for years, a couch, among other things laying around in the grass. The barbed wire and razor wire on the fence was not very appealing and made us feel like maybe it wasn’t a very safe area. The gym had three machines with only one working. I had to get my husband to come and get me because one of the male employees continued to walk by and stare in at me while I was working out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvergm, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Marie H,

We apologize for your unpleasant experience at our property, and per our conversation, we rectified and addressed any issues that you experienced. If you feel that you need to speak with me further, I am available at 352-236-2575.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 373 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

Upon checking in, we asked to see the room first, as the overall appearance of the facility left a lot to be desired. The room was so bad, I couldn't even walk all the way in. The carpet, chair, and bedspreads not only looked filthy, everything smelled musty and dank (along with the smell of stale cigarette smoke) even though we wanted a smoke free room. I would go so far as to say that this was the worst place I ever saw. Needless to say, we did not check in. I wouldn't even give a one star...

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvergm, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Miss Patty G,

We sincerely apologize that our property was not to your liking. We would like to reassure you that this is not the normal practice at our property and would like to invite you back at a discounted rate. We take our reviews very seriously and you have my utmost promise that this situation will be resolved. If you would like to visit us, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 352-236-2575. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was our last night on our tour around the state. The area is quiet and secure. The room was no frills. TV was unplugged because the cord barely reached the outlet. The bathroom coul have used a little more attention. The location is great. The value would be better if breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tailwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvergm, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Taliwheel,

We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfying. We appreciate your review of our property so that we may address the problem areas. We would like to invite you back at a discounted rate for your inconvenience during your last stay. Please contact me directly @ 352-236-2575 anytime you would like to come visit us again and I will be happy to make the arrangements for you.

Sincerely,

Donna Oglesby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here when i was here on my business trip, staff has definitely improved from what I read in some of these reviews. Rates were reasonable, a lot better than neighboring hotels that i checked out. Rooms were extra clean and service was excellent. Not to mention the WiFi is faster than usual hotels. There is a pub, and a Denny's located on the site. The new management has definitely improved the property!! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drew19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvergm, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear Drew19,

I would like to thank you so very much for your review of our property. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back anytime. Please contact us if we can be of further assistance to you.

Thank you,

Donna Oglesby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I have had many chances to stay at this hotel.The hotel exchanged owners in 2010 and lost a good manager.The response by the Manager in the previous post was the old manager,and they are still using his name to respond.Since he's left all the older posts have been removed and new ones up.I believe that if you stay longer than 1 night you'll see that it has indeed went downhill.I too am disappointed and I think the owners need to look at the reviews on here and concider hiring an entire new staff..PERIOD, I can say that this place is directly across the street from Silver Springs nature park and the cleaning staff do what they can with what they are given.But until they get someone with a pleasant yet buisness oriented goal in Management, they will continue to decline..which is sad for our family!Don't treat repeat customers like dirt,cause we wont be back to get swept up again!

Room Tip: Stay out of the main building and ask for the rooms in the annex building!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunkys_xxx_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvergm, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

I would like to sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay in March 2011. We are currently under a different management, and have made several improvements to our staff and facility. I would like to invite you back to stay with us at a discounted rate. Please contact me directly at 352-236-2575 and I will be happy to make the arrangements for you. My name is Donna Oglesby, and I am the current General Manager. I would appreciate the opportunity to make this right in any way I am capable. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My family as well as many relatives have been guests at this Days Inn for many, many years, but our most recent stays have been very disappointing and we won't be back. The location, the Denny's Restaurant right on the premises, and the economical cost were all positives, but the lack of response by hotel staff our last few visits regarding any problems or concerns with the accomodations has finished this place for us. Since the price was good for these "adequate" rooms, we were willing to overlook some minor problems in the rooms on other visits, however, our most recent visit presented some safety concerns regarding the location of our room. Hotel staff was not willing to make a suitable adjustment in our accomodations because we had our dachshund with this (for which we paid a pet fee), thereby requiring our use of only "certain" rooms, even though there was not another guest to be found within the proximity of the office and restaurant, which is where we would have felt safer. We were placed in the back lot near the maintenance buildings where there was one burned out light in the parking lot and literally no one else in the entire section we were in. When I voiced concerns about the safety of this location we were offered a room a few doors down, which did not address our concerns at all. We had checked into the room in the afternoon and checked out early in the evening because of this. We were not offered a refund and were still charged for the entire night including the pet fee with no apology for this whole situation. I understand with a pet certain concessions have to be expected, but I would think in an establishment that is obviously doing very little business, repeat customers like ourselves would have been cared for better than this. Silver lining is we went down the road to the Holiday Inn Express, which was beautiful, new, had super friendly staff, an incredible free breakfast buffet, and most importantly it was SAFE! So it worked out for us, but I am very disappointed in Days Inn and won't be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I had no idea what to expect, considering they are pet friendly, and had smoking rooms. Our room was just beautiful! Comfortable king size bed with very nice furniture. Bathroom was a little small, but everything else was great. Lady at the desk was very nice, as were the housekeepers. Great big fenced in area behind to walk the dog!! I was here for my birthday and to visit silver springs park and I had a great time!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunoceanbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Springs
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs
8.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
8.0 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
338 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
1.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ocala
WoodSpring Suites Ocala
#21 of 34 in Ocala
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East

Address: 5751 E Silver Springs Blvd, Silver Springs, FL 34488-1877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Silver Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Silver Springs
Price Range: $53 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Ocala National Forest, Silver River State Park and Ocala SpeedwayDays Inn Silver Springs / Ocala East hotel puts the Sun in The Sunshine State. Book a room at our Silver Springs, FL, hotel when you travel through central Florida to enjoy comforts, conveniences and a great value. Our hotel near Silver Springs Theme Park and Ocala National Forest serves piping hot meals at our 24-hour Denny’s and cool cocktails at Riley’s Pub, both located on-site. Get energized with a swim in our outdoor pool or a work out in the gym. Enjoy free Wi-Fi Internet access, room service and guest laundry facilities. Some rooms offer microwaves and refrigerators. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel.Days Inn Silver Springs / Ocala East hotel puts the Sun in The Sunshine State. Book a room at our Silver Springs, FL, hotel when you travel through central Florida to enjoy comforts, conveniences and a great value. Our hotel near Silver Springs Theme Park and Ocala National Forest serves piping hot meals at our 24-hour Denny’s and cool cocktails at Riley’s Pub, both located on-site. Get energized with a swim in our outdoor pool or a work out in the gym. Enjoy free Wi-Fi Internet access, room service and guest laundry facilities. Some rooms offer microwaves and refrigerators. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: We are just steps from Silver Springs, known as Nature’s Theme Park, which is a fun trip for the whole family. Ride the rides, take a glass-bottom boat tour, make a splash at Wild Waters waterpark, see a live performance or explore the scenic botanical garden. On a sunny afternoon, stroll down the streets of historic downtown Ocala and browse the unique shops and gift stores or tour the campus of Central Florida Community College. Head to Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing to see the one-of-a-kind dragsters and classic cars on display. Take the family to enjoy the Florida sunshine at scenic Ocala National Forest, just five miles away. DINING OPTIONS: On-site at our Silver Springs, FL, hotel, you can grab a casual bite at the 24-hour Denny’s or drinks from Riley’s Pub. Other unique local restaurants in the area include Pronto’s Pizza, Horse & Hound Restaurant and Honeysuckle Cafe. We are also close to Steak ‘N’ Shake, Bob Evans, Outback Steakhouse and a variety of fast-food restaurants. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES: Stay productive during your visit to our hotel in Silver Springs, FL, in our lobby business center with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Plan to hold your next business or social event in our meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Silver Springs
Days Inn Silver Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing