We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
108
35
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
35
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riveraguas calienteseco quechuazip linelocal coffeethermal bathstree housemachu picchuwelcome drinkcomfortable bedhot waterour night stayrelaxing stayfresh fruittreehouse stylemosquito nettingkiki
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 151 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I travel to meet people, learn about cultures and make friends. We accomplished all three while in Santa Teresa staying at Eco Quechua Lodge. When making plans for my trip with my friends, we decided not to try to see too much of Peru. Rather, we chose to spend about a week near Machu Picchu and explore. Renting a car in Cusco, we drove 6 hours to Santa Maria through the fabulous Andes. The stretch from Santa Maria to Santa Teresa is a 14km unpaved road that hugs the mountainside, with a steep drop to the river below. That stretch took about 1 1/2 hours (taxi might do it in 45 mins). Once in Santa Teresa a friendly taxi driver allowed us to, for 3 sol, to follow him to the lodge. Once there Kee-ke, the owner, and his wife greeted us and we settled in. Each of the 5 days we were there, Kee-ke helped us find a new adventure - zip lining, hiking the Llactapata Inca trail (with lunch at a farm overlooking MP), hot springs, and more. The lodge itself is very new. Kee-ke said that most of its construction was made from materials found on the property. The rooms were very clean and modern. Cold showers in-room, with outside showers having solar heated water, mid-day. the open-air lounge has a nicely stocked bar and is a comfortable place to meet other travelers.

Best part of it all were Kee-ke, his wife, family and help. They were terrific hosts the entire time and on our last night at the lodge, joined us for dinner and great conversation. If I go back to Santa Teresa or MP, I'll stay with them again.

Room Tip: River side rooms are better for sleeping. Roadside rooms awake daily to the neighborhood roosters.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stopped here as a surprise on our last night trekking - we were expecting to be camping again. This place is small, but expanding. They do a great job blending into the environment with their open air buildings. The hotel has a delightful rustic feeling to it, while being just outside of town so a short walk to anything you need that they don't have. Being up on a ridge you get a great view of the surrounding mountains, and of course that leads to beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

Some of the rooms are open, others are enclosed. Those that are open come with mosquito nets. The rooms are somewhat sparse, but the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms clean. We did have one wall in our bedroom that was pretty thin and backed onto another room. Thankfully my friends were in the room since we could easily hold conversations through the wall. It made breakfast timing easy, but I can see it getting a bit awkward for some people. All of the rooms have showers, but the only guaranteed hot water is in the 2 showers that are in a central area that anyone can use (again, only a few rooms so there will not be tons of people trying to get the hot showers.)

Next to the common area they skewer bananas on one of the trees daily to attract birds and insects, as well as bats at night. The common area also has some books and games to encourage people hanging out.

Happy hour starts at 6, though they only really have 3 drinks, and they are all S/. 20. None of us were impressed with the 'Machu Picchu' - and this goes for anywhere you get it (grenadine, OJ, creme de menth layered in a glass). If someone wants to get it, then everyone take a sip of theirs, no need to get your own. The Pisco sours are not bad, but the Piscorinio (something like that, I don't remember anymore) was pretty darn good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at this lodge as part of our river rafting tour with River Explorers. We love the place; the owners as well as the staff were extremely nice. The setting of this place is just beautiful with the river running right next to the property, very tranquil. The food was delicious; I can't eat gluten and they were very helpful in accommodating my dietary restrictions. A great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Not only is this a beautiful place to stay, but they have such wonderful staff!! The staff was so helpful and worked so hard. The dinner we bought at the hotel was delicious. They also had free purified water for guests to drink and free fruit to eat. They arranged our taxi services for us and our zip line experience as well. The room I stayed in was beautiful. It over looked a river valley. Could hear the rushing water down below. So peaceful. They also placed fresh freesias in our bathrooms. They smelled so good. Santa Teresa is off the beaten path, but staying here was so worth it. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tews20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I were traveling during the Christmas holidays and we had planned to make the Inca Trail towards Machu Picchu but we were too late in booking the trip so we decided to do it completely differently. We found the EcoQuechua lodge and tried to try it and what a great surprise!
They went take us in Cusco an early morning and after a more than 5hours car trip towards Santa Teresa (great landscapes, story etc etc) we arrived at the lodge! Super nice place, integrated in the nature, comfortable and great cooking Kike waw, thank you!
The guide came for a briefing and ate with us that evening and the next morning we were on track for One day and it was quite tough but a normal physical condition is enough! Lenin, our guide is very interessant and explains everything!
We climbed for the first part, then lunch in a lost restaurant with a view on the Machu Picchu, then descend towards the valley where we took a train to Aguas Calientes. Christmas dinner there with Lenin and a goooood night. I recommend you to wake up the earliest possible to get to Machu Picchu, what we did and the site with no one around is -no words- amazing!
Organisation, team, site, rooms everything was perfectly done with EcoQuechua! We will never forget our time with them, best Christmas ever!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harold w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews